We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World-class style, West Texas friendliness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Settles

Save Saved
You added Hotel Settles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Settles
200 East 3rd Street, Big Spring, TX 79720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Big Spring
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“World-class style, West Texas friendliness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My stay at the historic Settles offered all the glamour of a posh Manhattan or Paris hotel, without the traffic or pretension. No detail was overlooked in the quality and comfort of the elegant suite, the excellent appetizers in the Pharmacy Bar or the delicious dinner at the Settles Grill. If you appreciate the chance to step back in time to the service and style of the grand railroad hotels, while taking advantage of every modern amenity from luxurious bathrooms to hassle-free WiFi, don't wait for necessity to bring you to Big Spring, Texas -- make any excuse, and make your reservation ASAP! There's lots to do here, from driving up Scenic Mountain to visiting museums and the Comanche Trail Park, to enjoying a show at the state-of-the-art Municipal Auditorium, home of a superb symphony orchestra.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer fascinating views of the city; for the historic experience (on the same floor wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    5
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
17
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We read the recent article in Texas Monthly and decided to stay at Hotel Settles while driving West. The hotel was equal to the Mansion on Turtle Creek in Dallas and on par with any of the historic hotels of New York or San Francisco. The pool, park, and hot tub were not opened yet. The bar was really cool and the servers were very friendly and professional. The dowtown area appears to be under reconstruction and an Alamo Draft House might open soon. Big Spring is proably what Fredricksberg was 20 years ago. We are looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is an awesome hotel. The detail in the remodel is amazing and if you enjoy quality craftsmanship, this hotel will keep you noticing more and more. The rooms are great with awesome beds and pillows. The staff is very helpful. Great food in the cafe, I had an awesome breakfast and the best chicken fried steak I have ever had for dinner. Spend the money and stay here. You will be happy you did. This was not an investment property for somebody, they just wanted to bring some life back to Big Spring.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I were driving late through Texas and needed a place to stay. All of the hotels in the area looked very basic and yet were very expensive. Then popped up Hotel Settles. The photos looked amazing and it was hard to believe that this hotel was located in this area. On top of that there were only 7 reviews on tripadvisor. It seemed like some kind of hoax. We decided to check it out anyways. Driving through the town there is absolutely nothing. Most of the stores are boarded up. We pulled up to the hotel and it looked like the tower of terror. Still a little hesitant, we decided to walk inside. Boy were we pleasantly surprised! The inside was restored to look like the original hotel back in the 40's. It kind of reminded us if the Titanic. The front desk was super nice and more than accommodating. The rooms were beautifully decorated and equipped with tons of extras. The bar downstairs was the old pharmacy and continued with the old decor. We only stayed one night but wish we were able to stay longer. This hotel is amazing and was a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a great hotel. Wonderful stay. Would recommend to anyone staying with in 60 miles to stop at Settles for the night. The Pharmacy Bar is a blast... Great breakfast at the diner. Looking forward to going back on my next trip through the area.

Room Tip: Get a west facing room.. great sunset..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Once vibrant and glowing, now luxurious and oppulent. This is just what Big Spring needed. Folks, if you can't tell by now, I'm a West Texan GAL and couldn't be prouder. We've had plenty ups and downs and many of our small to medium sized towns are having a rough time returning to it's once golden position. The remodel of the Hotel Settles is a genuine step in the right direction. If you never go for any other reason you can always say, "I've spent the night at that wonderful hotel in the middle of BEAUTIFUL WEST TEXAS." Don't miss out on an experience like this. Not only the hotel but S T O P and take a look at the country. The hand of GOD is all over it. The views are breathtaking. Do alot of things but don't forget the simple stuff either.

Room Tip: Any room - they're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Tx
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife is from Big Spring and had read the story in Texas Monthly about a native son, after he made his fortune in Dallas, coming back and restoring the Settles Hotel. We were through there recently and we had to stay a night and look over the wonderful job they are doing on the 80 something year-old building. The work is still on going with the construction of a pool, hot-tub and veranda, but everything else is in mint condition. We had a huge double queen suite with walk in shower and wet bar with refrigerator. Their prices are compatible with the chain motels out on the Interstate, which are all full because of the "Oil Boom" going on in the area currently. Give yourself a treat if you are ever in this part of Texas --- you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Settles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Settles

Address: 200 East 3rd Street, Big Spring, TX 79720
Location: United States > Texas > Big Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Big Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Settles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Settles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.