We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Big Spring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Big Spring to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Big Spring
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1109 North Aylesford, Big Spring, TX 79720   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Big Spring
Lawton, Oklahoma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express sets the standard for all Holiday Inn Expresses. (Note: I'm a Platinum member so I've stayed at more than my fair share) Ruby (front desk cashier) always recognizes me and calls me by my first name, which only sets the tone for the entire stay. There's always free bottled water and pre-packaged snacks (Chip Ahoy cookies, Keebler Sandies, Cheez-its, etc.) at the front desk. And, Ruby always has freshed baked cookie awaiting when you return from a "day in the field". The work out room is slightly aged, and the treadmill was out of operation, but has a small "universal" type weight machine along with elliptical, stair stepper and stationary bike. The breakfast is complete with an excellent staff that keeps things filled. (Coffee, refrigerated items, plenty of fresh fruit varieties, etc.) This is ALWAYS my first choice in hotels when business brings me to this part of Texas. It's always a great stay!!

Room Tip: Rooms away from I-20 are quieter; however, the AC/Heater fan is more than capable of covering the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Big Spring, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Mark M,
Thank you for your awesome review of our property. We prize our loyal guests above all others, because we know you have a choice when it comes to lodging, yet you choose us whenever possible! Your review will be shared with all departments, since you have something wonderful to say about them all. We are beginning to update our Fitness Center, but this will take time, so bear with us. Have a great day, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
6
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burleson, Texas, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Easy Access to the hotel. Rates were higher than we're used to paying for a Holiday Inn Express room, the adage "Location, Location, Location" must play a part in the pricing. No, we were not near a theme park or some as yet unknown feat of nature...unless you count the gas and oil wells all around (and windmill farms).
Booked the room online, only a 2 double bed room was available. We were not offered to upgrade or switch to a king or queen room (no availability?) as we were one couple. The flooring in the room had not been vacuumed, walked on chunks of dried dirt/mud. The bathroom was clean. It must be that the room (the whole hotel) has seen much use as everything was fine and good, but just not up to the standards HIE is used to having (Houston, Beaumont, Shreveport, Alexandria, Alpine).
Overall -- an adequate stay, but don't look for exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Big Spring, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Lynette L,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our Hotel. Our prices do reflect the energy boom and the extremely high demand for lodging in this area, however, we pride ourselves on exceptional guest service. I do apologize for the untidiness of the carpet in your room on behalf of all staff here, and will make certain the appropriate department is made aware of this shortfall. We look forward to serving you in the future, and I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to live up to your ideal of the Holiday Inn brand. Thank you again for your time, and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed in alot of places, None more frendly then the staff that run this Hotel. Thay are second to none. Thay are always ready to help, even if it comes to finding a room some where else. The Prices are very good for West Texas. The Breakfast is always fresh AND tasty. The rooms are always clean and well kept. Extra coffee and water are always on hand after 5.pm thay generly have fresh cookies, ( so good ) cant say enough good things about the people at the front desk. There are some VERY GOOD places to eat in Big Spring. one good thing to ask for is a room on the south side of the bulding. THANKS AGAIN to the staff up front.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Big Spring, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear SteveP,
Thank you for your excellent review of our property. Here at Holiday Inn Express Big Spring, we know how the energy "boom" and the inflated hotel prices in the area can negatively affect everyday travelers. It is very inspiring for all the staff at the hotel to hear such a positive review that covers every aspect of your stay. We look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you again and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Did not have a reservation and decided to stop and see if a room was available. Given the hotel reviews in the area (Abilene, Midland, and Odessa) I was hesitant. They had a room, and the hotel seemed decent and the location right off I-20 was perfect. Service was very good and friendly. Room rate was especially decent for the area ($109 for two queen beds). The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. Really nice breakfast in the morning. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Big Spring, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear SpainTraveler6,
Thank you for your recent review regarding Holiday Inn Express Big Spring. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will also be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make HIE Big Spring a leader in excellence.
Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.
Sincerely, Angie W, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel rooms are at premium in this area of West Texas because of the energy boom. Prepare to pay higher than usual prices for moderate accommodations such as this. On the plus side, all the staff I encountered directly were friendly and eager-to-please and the breakfast was dependable & typical HI Express offerings; beds are comfortable. On the down side, my refrigerator was broken in the room, the television channel/codes varied depending on the brand of TV in the room (there was no info card posting in the room to help you decipher), and there were "special instructions" to follow to activate a wake-up call (once again--you had to receive verbal instructions since there were non posted in the room). The walls are a bit thin so turn on your unit fan and you should be okay. You have to drive about 2.5 miles to get to the nearest restaurant offerings in town. There are limited restaurant offerings in Big Spring.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has distance between it and the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Big Spring, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear RD M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a feedback of our property. I am happy to know that you found our staff service to be efficient and our bed accommodations comfortable enough for your stay. I am sorry that your stay was negatively affected by some amenities not working in your room. I have taken note of your comments and we will use them to improve our efforts.

Once again, many thanks for your review. We hope to have the chance of hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not a bad place to stay but you may have to lower your expectations some because the pick'ins in Big Springs is limited. Also understand there is an energy boom in this area and rooms are at a premium. As with other hotels in the area this hotel has been taken over by the energy related workers as evidenced by the filled lot of company trucks. The location is good but it is beginning to show some wear from lack of maintenance (doors not closing, scrapes and marks, trim falling off room interiors and appliances, etc.). They do keep it pretty clean and I did rest fairly well despite the thin walls and doors. The breakfast is a well supplied array of the usual fare. As HI Expresses go I've been in a lot better but what this place does have going for it is the super friendly down home staff that will go out of their way for you. Just be prepared for sticker shock.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Big Spring, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Here at Holiday Inn Express Big Spring. we take pride in our friendly, attentive staff and the overall cleanliness of our hotel. As you did notice, energy companies abound in the area at this time. We strive to provide the same excellent service to our new, as well as our loyal guests, even though space is at a premium in West Texas. We also thank you for the comments about the need for maintenance around the hotel, as we are always looking for ways to improve your experience. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate department, and measures to improve have begun. Have a nice day, and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

After reading a few other reviews i was a bit skeptical. But my experience here was excellent. Front desk staff was helpful and funny. Did all to make my stay great. Workout room was good. Could have changed out bacterial wipes. Container was dried out. Room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, had a small variety. I would stay here again if in the area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Big Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Big Spring

Address: 1109 North Aylesford, Big Spring, TX 79720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Big Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Big Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Big Spring 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Big Spring. We are conveniently located near downtown Big Spring, the Heritage Museum and Comanche Trail Park, which includes the new Big Spring Aquatic Center. We are also minutes away from The Hanger 25 air museum. All guest rooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi; iron & ironing board, microwave, refrigerators, coffee makers, cordless phones, and hair dryers...free continental breakfast! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel is an interior corridor hotel with keycard locks, a fitness facility, and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Big Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Big Spring Hotel Big Spring
Holiday Inn Big Spring
Big Spring Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Big Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.