We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well,ok.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al's & Son Bar-B-Q

Al's & Son Bar-B-Q
1810 S Gregg St, Big Spring, TX 79720-5401
432-267-8921
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 53 restaurants in Big Spring
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
houstonburbs
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Well,ok.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We needed a quick place to eat as we traveled.... As BBQ fans, we expected good West Texas really great food. This place just did not get it. Friendly staff, but this did not make up for the mediocre food served. Sorry...this place did not do it for us....disappointed travelers!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    8
    13
    4
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a cafeteria style restaurant with sides available for the dipping and based on the meal that you bought. There is free vanilla bean ice cream provided by the wait-staff (vanilla flavor is very strong). I had the chopped beef sandwich--it is good-sized, flavorful and filling.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fake BBQ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

There was no smoke ring or bark on the brisket it was very dry very poor attemt to call this bbq would not recommend to anyone for this overpriced place as I travel the country and this so far is by the worst

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As good as my Grandpa's BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This BBQ tasted as good as my grandfather's BBQ....and he knows his BBQ! The chopped beef sandwich was amazing and I loved the onion rings! The staff was also extremely friendly and kept my family's drinks refilled. I have two small children and they also ate everything on their plate! Just when we thought it couldn't get better, they brought us cobbler and homemade ice-cream that was to die for. I could eat here everyday!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Love those Ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Best sauce and ribs ever. My husband loves the Texas Sub if your hunger. Don't forget the homemade ice cream!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al's & Son Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Al's & Son Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al's & Son Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.