We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Love Fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dead Fish Grill

Dead Fish Grill
2207 Lake Rd, Belton, TX 76513-5198
254-939-5771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 61 Restaurants in Belton
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: American, Fish & Chips, Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The only lake front restaurant in Central Texas. Come enjoy a margarita or cool iced tea while taking in the views of Belton Lake. Live Music and friendly staff with great food. Who could ask for more?
Killeen, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If You Love Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very nice place to take your sweetheart for a nice dinner. The food is very good. You can eat outside deck over looking the lake. Price is good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    56
    37
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice view, good drinks, poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This restaurant sits on Belton Lake and has a great view of the lake. The alcoholic beverages are very good. However, the food is hit and miss. Some items are good and others are terrible. Also, the plastic hanging over the balcony cuts down on the lake view.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hempstead, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place with a great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Food was really good and sitting on the patio overlooking the lake was a big plus. They also have live music on the weekends. Will go back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Something is Fishy at Dead Fish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The view of the lake was the only redeeming quality of this restaurant! My husband and I have frequented this restaurant on several occasions, most often for a drink and appetizers to enjoy the sunset over the lake. When we have tried to enjoy dinner we have almost always been disappointed in the service or the food. In this case it was both of those, as well as the bar service and the management.
We had a moderately size party celebrating a birthday. The service from the bar was extremely slow, our server was friendly in the beginning but became incredibly negligent as the evening wore on. We were not informed that the restaurant was out of certain items until over 30 minutes after we had placed our orders, then we didn't receive menus to "figure out" a replacement. That they were out of items is ok, it is a fresh fish restaurant but to not inform customers immediately or know when the kitchen runs out is poor management. They were also out of some side dishes, which is also ok, but no offer of substitutions were made, it was just decided in the kitchen.

It was over an hour before our food arrived and most of the meals were luke-warm and over-cooked. Noone was willing to send their food back due to the wait time. The server never came back to check on us or the quality of our meals so getting them sent back wasn't really an option anyway. Our water glasses were never refilled, even though requested at least twice that I personally asked for and I know of at least one other request.

Lat call was at 9:00, their actual closing time? At that last call our server was nowhere to be seen. We held up our hands, tried to locate her, all to no avail. Our friend had to locate the manager, it took TWO requests before he came to our table, and we were "graciously served" last call.

A friend spoke with the manager twice regarding our visit.

The oddest part about our visit is that almost every party at our table had the same basic amount for their check, regardless of their order.

Something is fishy at the Dead Fish Grill...and it isn't very pleasant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DEAD FISH BURNED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Dead Fish Burned

We called Monday to make Reservations for a party of 16 for Thursday April 25th at 7 PM. We were told that reservations weren't taken for anything under 20, but that it would not be a problem. Then we were advised to wait till 7:30 to show because they had already booked 3 other party's for the same night.
We arrived at 7 to assure seating at 7:30 and 13 were seated at 7:15. It was 30 minutes before we saw a waitress to place our orders and and hour before food arrived. A few of our guest even went to bar for drinks because our waitress never came around after food order was taken. We all ordered top shelf margaritas but had killer headaches the next day that only cheap tequila brings, some of our guest ordered items that they were out of stock on, but instead of making that known, they simply substituted chicken and billed for salmon. We received appetizer after main entree, and when the establishment began making horrendous noise moving tables & chairs to close at 8:45, we asked them to bring over a manager. The manager never came over and when they "yelled" last call at 9 pm (15 minutes after our food arrived, only 90 minutes after suggested arrival) we asked for management again. The manager came and spoke with someone from our table and we were told to place our drink order and bartenders would happily serve. I was under the impression that meant they recognized the horrible service, horrible experience & horrible food we had been given and the "last drink" would be compted. When we received the bill (which didn't take them long at all) we realized we were mistaken. It was $86 dollars for 1 entree that we split and the 2 of us had 3 margaritas & they had no problems adding the 18% gratuity. We didn't want to cause a scene during a Birthday party, so we attempted to resolve our issue with the Dead Fish Grill the next day. Evidentially they care nothing about their reputation and survive merely on the view the location offers. It's very concerning that 13 people have attempted to discuss their disappointments with Dead Fish and they have responded by deleting reviews and very careless attitudes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dead Fish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Dead Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dead Fish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.