We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Collin Street Bakery

Collin Street Bakery
701 I 35 North, Bellmead, TX
254-799-5824
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Bellmead
Cuisines: Bakeries
Description: The newest Location of their Bakery along I 35
Restaurant details
Description: The newest Location of their Bakery along I 35
San Antonio TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have been customers of the original location in Corsicana for many years, so on a recent road trip through Waco, we were anxious to try this locations. What a disappointment it turned out to be. Our chicken salad sandwiches had been prepared and refrigerated so long before we arrived that the bread fell apart as we tried to eat them. Besides having very little taste, they were much smaller than expected. After that major disappointment, we made another bad decision when we bought a small fruitcake (way over priced and not up to their previous standards) and an assortment of cookies to go. Except for the Russian rock ones, the cookies were lacking the great taste and texture of the same kinds we'd bought many times in Corsicana. Doubt that we will return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saranac Lake
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our friend suggested we stop here for lunch. We were pleasantly surprised at the choices available and ended up with the special of the day - a Ceasar Salad and beverage for $4.00. You are not misreading the price it was four bucks for a great, fresh salad and beverage. Of course, I did some shopping for dessert - just to hard to resist. Ended up bringing some back to our friend's home for evening snack and bought some coffee beans as well. Will definitely order some cakes for the upcoming holiday season. Even the shipping prices are reasonable. The place was spotless and staff helpful and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Tx
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delicious baked goods & sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The glass walled bakery/snack shop is light, airy, and enjoyable.

I love the selection of cookies!!!! The crispy "praline" ones are my favorite!!

Easy on and off I-35 in north Waco.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very slow”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

15 minutes in a line of 4 people for the deli. 5 minute wait at the treats counter, so we divided our forces up to save time. Once the order for 4 sandwiches was in, a few more minutes and we paid for them. 20 minutes after those 20 minutes we went looking for our food. They yelled our number before we could get to the counter. Kids PB&J had no jelly. They handed us a little jelly container to fix our sandwich ourselves. Kids meals come with a cookie, which we didn't know until we paid for their meal and had already paid for some cookies due to the aforementioned waits. This was on a normal Friday starting at 11:15am. We won't return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Texas Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The original Collin Street Bakery is in Corsicana, TX, and Waco is the only other city to have one of their bakeries and cafe. It began with fruitcakes and now is known for many, many kinds of delicious baked goods...especially their cookies.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Collin Street Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Collin Street Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collin Street Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.