We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tube-less” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pirates Bay Water Park

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pirates Bay Water Park
5300 East Road, Baytown, TX
281-422-1150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Baytown
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Pearland, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Tube-less”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This park is a good price for what you get. There's not much to see or do in Baytown (by far not a destination) and probably worth a 30 min drive but that's it. Free parking is a plus and the fact that they limit capacity is nice IF you get there in time. Huge line to get in. You need to be there an hour to 45 min before they open and prepare to stand in hot sun for a while. 4 hours is good for getting it all in. Park is clean, simple, laid out efficiently. But NOT ENOUGH TUBES. Walked around for an hour trying to find one. People hoard them like gold, it's ridiculous. Mgmnt is not thinking strategically about their 'tube plan' - it doesn't work. Bring your cooler and plenty of snacks. If you don't get there at opening, don't bother.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value waterpark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Okay, so I was a little skeptical going but pleasantly surprised. I would give it a 3.5 if that were possible. Better than good but not quite very good. It is not as "nice" as the larger Schlitterbahn-type parks, but the fact that it is compact was nice since I was there with three kids under 10 yrs old. We got there early so there were little to no lines for the slides. You could go down a slide, go right back up the stairs, and go again. We were able to do everything we wanted (multiple times) within 4 hours and could easily of done it in 3. Granted, this was a weekday, but still pretty nice. Also, the food prices were reasonable. The pizza was not very good, but the burger and fries were. There were slides you could go down on mats, slides you go down in inner tubes, and slides for two in larger tubes. It was fun for me and the kids as well. Be aware though that there are height requirements for a few of the slides and they do a good job of making sure the kiddos are tall enough.

We will definitely go back.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a GREAT Affordable Waterpark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Easy to get to....drive SOUTH down Garth Road...follow the white and blue signs to the park. ICECHESTS and food are welcome. $20 entrance fee for anyone over 48" tall. FUN park. Very Nice New Wavepool. Food a little pricey but tasty. Only problem encountered is people take the tubes out of the Lazy River....the workers try to get them to place them back over there but people FAIL to abide by the rules which leaves others with out a tube...ALL DAY. You need to arrive 1 hour early. Have someone stand in line with your folding chairs and have a seat. The other needs to buy the tickets and just put your sunscreen on and relax a while...You will be in in no time at all. Very good day. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice waterpark, good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a nice little city water park, well worth the $20 admission fee. About 6 adult waterslides, lazy river, and a lot of kid friendly stuff. Free parking, and food prices are not bad, and you are allowed to bring in coolers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun In The Sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

For a small water park, it's really nice. We got there early and picked a shady spot with lounge chairs and room for our ice chest. The kids played all day, stopping for more sunscreen and a picnic. Will go again :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirates Bay Water Park also viewed

Baytown, Texas Gulf Coast
Baytown, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Baytown, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pirates Bay Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirates Bay Water Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.