We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dsappointed Elite Marriott Rewards member” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Houston Baytown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Houston Baytown to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Houston Baytown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5169 I-10 East, Baytown, TX 77521   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Baytown
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Dsappointed Elite Marriott Rewards member”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

hotel choices are limited to chains in Baytown, some advice... be sure to confirm reservation with this hotel because if you tend to arrive late in the evening, they may just say they had to book you at the Comfort Inn because somehow the computer overbooked their hotel.

Sure it s a nice hotel if they can honor your reservation.

Disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Houston Baytown, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write about the Marriott SpringHill Suites in Baytown. We do apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused you during your stay in the area. Our property had a last-minute issue on the night of your reservation that caused us to lose one available room, which is the reason we booked a room for you at a similar all-suite property. We do hope that you will stay with us when you return to the Baytown area so that we can prove to you how much we appreciate our guests.

We look forward to hosting you,

Chris Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    16
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
14
5
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burleson, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stay at The SpringHill Suites when we visit Baytown. We have stayed here multiple times and for under $100 it's one of the nicest places in Baytown!
THE GOOD:
Beds and Pillows are VERY comfortable!! And I have back/neck problems so most hotels kill me!
Good water pressure in showers.
Toilet is in separate bathroom from shower so others in room can still use it while you're getting ready.
VERY conveniently located. Right on I-10. Right behind Cracker Barrel. Walking distance from Starbuck's and Walgreens.
LARGE closet.
Mini refrigerator to keep water, etc cold.
I think breakfast is included in all room rates but with Cracker Barrel right there... We've never eaten it. (Didn't look too appetizing.)
THE BAD:
Bathroom doors are frosted glass so if you turn on the light in the bathroom you will disturb others in room. This is also a problem in that you can hear everything going on in the bathrooms. :(
This is a family oriented hotel so other guests let their kids run around the halls. It's NOT a place to sleep late in the mornings. Too much light and noise. Bring sleep mask and earplugs to sleep.

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room at the end of the hall so you don't get as much kid traffic?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Houston Baytown, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write about the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Houston/Baytown. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your time here with us. We also appreciate you giving other TripAdvisor users information regarding the restaurants and stores within walking distance of our property.

The next time you are in the area we hope that you will join us for breakfast! It is a hot breakfast buffet featuring eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy, and waffles. We believe that you will love it.

Thank you also for bringing to light some issues that we will certainly look into. We hold ourselves to the highest standards, so if any facet of the hotel does not meet our guests' expectations, we will remedy it with the utmost haste. We hope to see you again soon when you visit the Baytown area.

Happy Travels,

Chris Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Rooms are so beautiful, clean and comfortable. Air Conditioning worked well. Yummy cookies at night. Good location. Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Houston Baytown, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We at the SpringHill Suites are pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us, especially with our complimentary cookies in the lobby! We do hope that you will visit us again when you are in the area. Thank you for taking your time to write about our property, and safe travels.

Sincerely,

Chris Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Belvieu, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Marriott's staff in Baytown was very helpful and accommodating! Location, ballroom, food, and staff were all fabulous! They made sure our event ran smoothly! Everyone was very complimentary! Thank you, Spring Hill Suites! :)

Room Tip: Daytime event, so no room was necessary, but facility seems clean and well kept!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Houston Baytown, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write about our hotel. We are all very glad to hear that you enjoyed your event in our convention space. I will pass along your comments to our banquet staff, who will be more than pleased. We hope to see you again soon at our facility!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I walked in the front door to a very bright springtime elegance and great hospitality. The decor is very upbeat and refreshing. I reserved a double queen room weeks in advance but at check in they said I was confirmed in a 1 king bed room. They quickly found a double queen room that was available. The rooms were very spacious. One unique feature is they had 2 bathrooms, 1 with a toilet and a small sink and the other had a sink and a very large walk in shower. The water pressure was great, even better than at home. The beds were very comfortable, I slep very sound! There was a desk and couch area that was very comfortable and the flat screen TV swiveled so you could view it from anywhere in the room. There was also a mini fridge and microwave. This property had a workout room, indoor pool, A2Z lounge, complimentary coffee & tea 24 hrs, complimentary breakfast and a very nice outdoor seating area to enjoy the weather. This hotel looked and felt brand new. The area included various hotels options, lots of restaurants (Tuscany Italian restaurant is a MUST!) and a shopping mall just a short distance away. Breakfast was great with choices ranging from TX shaped waffles to fruit, yogurt, cereal and oatmeal. Didn't use the work out area but I peeked in and it was new and quite adequate. The A2Z lounge is very hip and had reasonable prices on drinks. I highly recommend this hotel for a get away or even a pre night before a cruise out of Galveston. I would definiately stay here again without thinking twice.

Room Tip: No bathtub - negative for families with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Houston Baytown, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us here at the Springhill Suites by Marriott Baytown, and we very much appreciate you taking your time to write about our hotel!

We are very glad you enjoyed your time here; “upbeat and refreshing” is exactly what we are striving for. The Springhill Suites is a new hotel and we will always be working hard to keep it looking brand new. And you are certainly right, Tuscany is a fantastic restaurant that we use quite often (I highly recommend the Chicken Florentine).

Again, thank you for the review, and we hope to see you again soon when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a week while I was traveling to Baytown for work. Although it looks nice, when you scratch the surface you are likely to find that it is not as nice as it seems. For one thing, when I checked in there was a used plastic garment bag on the bed, so obviously the room had not been cleaned very well - and my colleague found hair on the floor of his bathroom, so that room had not been cleaned very thoroughly either. Much of the food at the breakfast had the look of stuff that had been sitting around for a while and did not taste very good. There is a Starbucks and other restaurants nearby, but it was a little disappointing that the breakfast could not at least have something fresh. None of this would have given it the one star rating, but when Saturday night came around things got worse - the management had rented the banquet room on the first floor to a very very loud party and the bass and DJ's announcements were so unbelievably loud that the party sounded like it was in my room. I went downstair to complain, only to find several other guests complaining as well. Unfortunately, the banquet manager Cynthia was unwilling to ask the DJ to turn down the bass or the music, and told us that there was nothing she could do and just said that that the party would be over at midnight. Gotta wonder why a hotel would rent their conference room to such a loud group of local people not even staying at the hotel and inconvenience so many of its guests... based on my experience at Springhill Suites - sloppy housekeeping, bad breakfast, unresponsive staff, and loud weekend parties - I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Houston Baytown, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in the Baytown area. As a Marriott Platinum Circle award-winning hotel for our housekeeping and guest service, we hold ourselves to the highest standards, and we are sorry your experience did not match yours or our expectations. Housekeeping is one of the key components of guest satisfaction at the Springhill Suites, so we are very appreciative of you bringing to light issues that need addressing immediately. Rest assured that we will be evaluating our housekeeping procedures to take our cleanliness to even greater levels.

The Springhill Suites also prides itself on the quality of our hot breakfast items, including sausages, omelets, scrambled eggs, and waffles, that are made fresh every morning. We will gladly take your feedback into account as we continuously evaluate our breakfast offerings.

The Springhill Suites is a convention hotel with the purpose of providing a contemporary meeting space for the Baytown community. We welcome any group, local or otherwise, that has a need for a place to gather and celebrate. Our guests are also incredibly important to us, which is why music during an event is allowed only during weekends, and we take seriously any issue a guest has at our property.

Once again, thank you for providing feedback that we can use to eliminate any issues a guest may have here at the Springhill Suites. We hope that the refund for your room and tax for Saturday evening leaves you feeling somewhat compensated for your inconvenience, and that you will allow us to wow you with our superior service and amenities the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Chris Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights while in town for a wedding. The hotel is not only new, but contemporary. The rooms are large, clean and comfy! The beds are very nice..bathrooms are large and the showers are fantastic!!! Everything in the room worked perfectly. I will always look for a SpringHill Suites in the future for a place to stay! The staff was wonderful. Very kind and attentive to any needs we had. The A2Z lounge was a very cozy and fun environment that we were able to enjoy after the wedding.

I have never taken the time to compliment a facility before and I am hard to please! This facility was top ranked in my opinion!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynDockery, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites Houston Baytown, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
We are very glad to hear that you had a great time with us, and we appreciate you taking your time to post a review about the Springhill Suites. We are all very proud of our staff and I will pass along your compliments to them. It does make our day to hear positive feedback from our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon when you come back our way.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Houston Baytown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Houston Baytown

Address: 5169 I-10 East, Baytown, TX 77521
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Baytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Baytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Houston Baytown 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Houston Baytown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Houston Baytown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.