We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will Return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Bay City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Bay City to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bay City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 7th Street, Bay City, TX 77414   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bay City
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We will Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were extremely pleased with this lodging... in town for a funeral and had booked online but we had the dates wrong. Not a problem as the people at the front desk just changed it at same price. We were on 3rd floor just across from the elevator and found the room to be very quiet. No noise at all from any direction! Room and bathroom were spotless - good water pressure with lots of hot water. We found the workout room and downstairs restroom to be spotless and odor free as well. Did not use laundry or pool. I am amazed to read these other reviews (after the fact) to learn this was a pet friendly place as there was absolutely no doggie smells (or sights) anywhere. We especially enjoyed the 5:30 - 9 AM complimentary breakfast -- everything we tried was tasty and there was a wide assortment to select from. We liked having a tv in the breakfast area as we caught up on some morning news. All staff we encountered were extremely polite and helpful -- even gave my husband a comp toothbrush when he realized he'd forgotten his. Front Desk people were extremely helpful to us on Aug. 29, 2013 when we arrived. I don't know where any of these bad reviews came from as we saw NOTHING negative.

Room Tip: Rm 307, 3rd floor is near elevator yet very quiet and seemed very spacious to us as compared to othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
9
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our stay was ok. The room was smaller and more expensive than comfort Suites next door. The staff needs to be a little more friendlier. The pool and grill needed to be cleaned. The hotels kinda smells.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Great place to stay. Beds are awsome,we slept like a log. Breakfast was incredible and such a tasty assortment of food. Very quiet and the staff was very accomodating and professional. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We needed a place to stay for one short night and used a popular website to get a good price on a room in a 2.5 star motel. I would have been happy to pay full price just for the opportunity to sink into the bed! Not sure what kind of mattress it was, but I want one!! We arrived at nearly midnight and the desk clerk was friendly, quick to check us in and offered to get us anything if we needed it. We didn't need anything as the room was well-appointed, with everything except ice which was just down the hall. After a comfortable night's sleep, my husband forced himself to climb out of the bed and go for the complimentary breakfast. I stayed in bed! The hotel appeared to be brand new but when we complimented the manager's wife the next morning, she said it was opened in 2008. It is certainly well taken care of, as our room, the eating area and the other common areas we observed were spotless and new looking. We didn't use the pool or the exercise room, but I would imagine they were as nice. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone to stay in if they find themselves needing a room in Bay City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed in the La Quinta in Bay City several weeks ago. The desk clerk was very nice as we check in. We got to the room and the interior door lock was broken, which made me very uncomfortable. My husband went down to get our room changed and the clerk already knew the lock was broken. She said that she could probably put us in a suite because they are they were the only vacancies. She called the owners and they basically said sorry, and they couldn't put us in a different room. When i went to check out I told the owner and she acted like she really didn't care that our lock was broken. Other than the lock, it was a mediocre hotel. The beds were hard as rocks and the shower had some mold around the seals. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldspring, Texas
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was quite simply the BEST "2.5 star Moderate" Hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was quiet and clean. The staff was courteous, even solicitous. The breakfast was "Outstanding". The mattresses were absolute HEAVEN. I would stay there again, if the opportunity arose. Bay City has improved in the last five years. Although it is not the "garden spot" of Texas, it is on Highway 35, which runs down the coast to several attractive coastal cities. This is a convenient stopover for those taking a leisurely drive down the coast. We spent the day in Galveston, heading to Corpus Christi. This was a convenient stop over and very comfortable. The property is four years old, but is so well maintained that it looks brand new.

Room Tip: Down stairs, close to breakfast is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Bay City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Bay City

Address: 5300 7th Street, Bay City, TX 77414
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Bay City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Bay City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Bay City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Bay City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.