We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own silverware!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baxters On Main

Baxters On Main
919 Main St, Bastrop, TX 78602-3809
512-321-3577
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 85 restaurants in Bastrop
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Bring your own silverware!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Really ??? White table cloths , beautiful atmosphere, pleasant staff and the cheapest silver( aluminum ) utensils ever! How can you cut a steak with a nice knife and a tin fork? The food was not as good as we hoped, mashed potatoes were like glue, asparagus was good , prime rib tough,
...... Texas we have not had a good steak yet... What's up?

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    31
    17
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place but the food could use a little more zip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Met a friend for dinner. Good atmosphere, subdued, staff was knowledgeable about the menu and had good
recommendations. Entrees could have used more seasoning. Prices might have been a smidge high for the area but not out the question.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pecan Creme Brulee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Is the best dessert locally A really nice remodeled bar, and consistently good food. The owners have an art gallery (for sale) on all the walls. Periodic Rocking Out with Still Rockin' a local band led by a Bastrop Physician.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Tx
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So Many Delicious Menu Options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I contstantly recommend Baxters because it is consistently excellent and everyone in the family can order what he/she wants. From Sea Bass to Steak to Fried Chicken the standards are top rate. Service is superb. Owner Terry Knop keeps her standards at the top!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Used to be good...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I like to go to Baxters for special occasions so we were excited to go for our anniversary. However, they change the menu and took off the two entrees we love! I can't stand their new menu and apparently we are not alone as our waitress said they are changing it yet again. My husband got the chicken fried steak which is good but let's face it... You don't go to a place like this for chicken fried steak. He subbed his mashed potatoes for asparagus in which he got 4 wimpy asparagus spears under a huge pile of green beans which he can't stand. Nice try for visuals... If they bring back the old menu they might have a chance but we were very disappointed and will not be eating here again until a better menu change.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baxters On Main also viewed

 

Been to Baxters On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baxters On Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.