We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Paw Paw's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paw Paw's Catfish House

Paw Paw's Catfish House
1014 Main Street, Bastrop, TX 78602
+1 512-321-9800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 92 Restaurants in Bastrop
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Keller, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Paw Paw's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very good food. Reasonably priced. Cute atmosphere. Good service. Décor was fun with pictures of Paw Paw fishing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cute place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great value & so much food! We both ordered something different and were very satisfied with each dish. I loved the glass they used for serving wine. You'll have to go there to find out what I mean.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“New kid on the block!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Fun little place, all homegrown & hometown Bastrop! Service is very prompt and friendly, nice big windows looking out to Main Street. Fun decorations and the food is mostly fried (of course) but not greasy. Flaky catfish filet. Love it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really wanted to like it.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I really, really, really wanted to like this place. I had heard great things, so my husband and I stopped in a few weeks ago on a Saturday for lunch. First impressions were great - nicely decorated and clean. A little over half of the tables were occupied when we got there, and our server seemed stressed. We ordered an appetizer of the house-made chips and dip then a catfish plate to split (had six pieces), and then we waited..............after an incredibly long time, a man (who was the cook, and it seemed like may be one of the owners) brought the catfish. We mentioned that we had ordered an appetizer, which he said he had sent out some time ago. Since we hadn't gotten it (we think our server gave it to another table who looked really puzzled when she put it on their table), he offered to fix us another one on the house - which was very nice. The catfish and the sides looked good, but I could actually smell the fish when I was going to eat it - it was really fishy! Inside it was very slimy and grey, just yucky. We looked at every piece and they were all that way. The sides were good and the house-made chips were good. We really had hoped for a good place to get some catfish, but sadly, this is not it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simple menu but excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here after looking at a few of the more top rated Bastrop restaurants. Glad we did. Neat, clean and food was good. Wasn't a huge selection of items on menu but the fried catfish was awesome! Well pleased.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paw Paw's Catfish House also viewed

 

Been to Paw Paw's Catfish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paw Paw's Catfish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.