We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morris Mansion

Morris Mansion
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bastrop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morris Mansion
Save Saved
You added Morris Mansion to your Saves list
1508 Church Street, Bastrop, TX 78602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Bastrop B&B and Inns
heart of Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

What an absolute gem that we were lucky enough to get a room at for a last-minute gal-pal weekend. Actually very happy the other B&B's were booked, or we'd have never known what we were missing out on. The pictures on their website are great, but do not do justice to the beauty of this home. The incredible owners, Ursula and Gary Morris, who's passion and love for this place shows in every single detail of every room. As much as we loved our room, Katherine's Suite, I believe we fell in love, as well, with the entire Morris family. We can't wait to go back again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful. Katherine's Suite now actually has a beautiful four-poster bed. The Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just back from a quick gal-pal weekend to Bastrop and that alone was wonderful and needed.
Staying at the Mansion was pure perfection. History, restoration, location, breakfast, parking,
bath, bed and the grounds are excellent, but it's the family that own and live in the mansion that
make the stay outstanding. Please, take time to talk with Ursala and tour the home for the
history and changes attached. You can tell, we will go back....here's hoping for a weekend
when the city and mansion are decked for Christmas

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We just returned from our stay at the Morris Mansion in Bastrop. We live in Austin and were wanting a little getaway and planned our trip around the Main Street Christmas Parade. We thought it would be fun to be in walking distance to downtown while experiencing the historic district. We were greeted by the owners Ursula and Gary and their sweet Cocker Spaniel, Cookie! They made us feel right at home. The B&B was gorgeous and the Christmas tree and decorations made it even more inviting and beautiful. We stayed upstairs and our room was an absolute cozy delight. It was very spacious with its own private dressing area and shower. It was very quiet and private and Ursula provided a beautiful dish of fruit, pastries, coffee and juice for breakfast. The Morris mansion was an absolute treat. We would highly recommend staying at this beautiful B&B. Kay and Julie

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

A friend and I had been wanting to visit Bastrop for some time. As luck would have it, the only weekend we could make it work, few rooms were available. One of the other inn keepers suggested Morris Mansion. I'm so glad they did! The home is a stunning restored mansion, with no details left out. The owners are a fun couple and we enjoyed visiting with them. The rooms were great, the bed was comfortable and we were really spoiled by the wonderful breakfasts we were served. In all, the visit exceeded our expectations and we are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We had a recent trip to Bastrop to celebrate my birthday. Most of the other B&B's in town were already booked, but luckily we were able to get a room at the Morris Mansion which had recently opened. The innkeepers, Gary and Ursula, were very friendly and made us feel at home. They were very helpful with restaurant and activity ideas, and also gave us a tour of the premises and shared the history of the home as well. The room we stayed in was called Katherine's Suite. It was nicely decorated with antiques and beautiful linens, and was spacious and comfortable. Snacks and cold drinks were provided in the room, as well as a bottle of wine. My husband enjoyed watching a football game on the flat screen TV while I enjoyed shopping in the shops on Main Street. Later, at Gary's suggestion, we ate dinner at Baxter's on Main which was wonderul and then took a walk on the nearby riverwalk. The homemade breakfast the next morning was delicious with lots of choices. After breakfst we enjoyed sitting on the large wrap around porch reading. There is also a lovely outdoor garden and sitting area in the spacious yard. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. We definitely would stay here again and would enthusiastically recommend the Morris Mansion to others.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

A last minute decision to go to Round Top for its famous antique shopping experiences led us to the Morris Mansion in Bastrop, TX. The drive from Bastrop to Round Top for shopping was well worth the trip! Owners Ursula & Gary Morris have done a fabulous job restoring this beautiful historic Victorian mansion and were friendly & gracious hosts from the minute we arrived until we returned home and discovered we left some personal items behind & Ursula expedited shipping our things back to us the very next day!! A beautiful home down to every last detail, delicious freshly prepared breakfasts and great recommendations for restaurants & activities made this a terrific weekend get-away and we will definitely be back whenever we find ourselves returning to the Hill Country of Central Texas!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morris Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris Mansion

Address: 1508 Church Street, Bastrop, TX 78602
Location: United States > Texas > Bastrop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bastrop
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morris Mansion is a luxury bed and breakfast located in a historic 1888 Victorian mansion in Bastrop, TX. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morris Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.