We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lost Forest Of Central Texas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bastrop State Park

Bastrop State Park
PO Box 518, Bastrop, TX 78602
512-321-2101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Attractions in Bastrop
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Fishing, Camping, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful wooded park great for camping, hiking, biking and fishing and home to the Lost Pines.
Edinburg, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Lost Forest Of Central Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was born and raised in East Texas (have you ever noticed that Texas is the only state that capitalizes the various regions of the state?...East Texas, West Texas, North Texas, South Texas and Central Texas? What's up with that?) Anyway East Texas is blessed with a great abundance and variety of pine trees. If you have ever smelled the ozone in a pine forest then you know what fresh air really smells like. But when you leave East Texas, you leave the piney woods behind. It's all about the soil. East Texas has acidic soil and pine trees love acid; Central and West Texas have basic soil and therefore you do not expect to find pine forests in Central Texas However, there is a hugh forest of pine trees in Central Texas that we protect with a State Park designation - Bastrop State Park. We refer to Bastrop State Park as the Lost Forest of East Texas Pines. But that is not all! Bastrop State Park is also home to some great architectural buildings built by the Civilian Conservation Corp (i.e. the CCC) during the Great Depression. These buildings are still in use and some can be rented for a holiday in the pines. One other little know fact about Bastrop State Park is that it is home to a very rare and very stupid frog. When the Texas Department of Transportation was improving SH 21 through the Park, they constructed a very nice, underground highway for the male frogs, who reside on the south side of the park to visit the female frogs who hang out on the north side. Prior to this underground travel way, a large percentage of the male frogs never made it across the road. Ask a Ranger to show you this unique lovers lane.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    16
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alyth, Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bastrop and Beucher are two of my favorite state parks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were sad to see the number of trees wiped out by the huge fire, but still the park is lovely. We were so lucky to get a marvelous log and stone cabin that felt like home. We swam in the gorgeous outdoor pool basking in the sun. This is a large pool with lanes for more serious swimming and shallow areas for just playing in the water. It was marvelous to swim outdoors in the water heated by the sun. We loved our cabin and it felt serene to have a nice dinner outside at our picnic table right outside of the kitchen. We slept well and awakened refreshed. We went for a short run, then took a shower, then went for a great bike ride from Bastrop into Beucher. We would have loved to have stayed for several more days but even our short time there was a grand holiday.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“State park coming back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just spent three days of Labor Day week end at the park....millions of trees in the forest burned with dead trees still standing. However several areas of the park are still green and beautiful. Copperas Cove looked good . Repairs taking place so temporary showers and bathrooms. But new facilities are underway.
The pool was wonderful and actually we enjoyed two long hikes after we got used to looking at the burned trees we saw many interesting features in the underbrush and were challenged by climbing over downed trees. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fewer trees? No problem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend on a road trip for a hot, muggy night. It was brutal, and a lot of the surrounding trees were still missing from an earlier fire. But the surroundings were still beautiful, and the swimming pool in the park was a great (clean) escape from the heat. The campsite was large and gave us a sense of being in the middle of the wilderness, even though it was only 100 yards or so away from the pool parking lot. Also, I saw my very first roadrunner there, so that gives it points, as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice fishing pond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I like fishing here, not very busy most of the time. I like coming during the week,. also has a fun swimming pool. mostly cat fish.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bastrop State Park also viewed

 

Been to Bastrop State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastrop State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.