We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for a very large golf tournament or office party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying L Guest Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Flying L Guest Ranch to your Saves list
Flying L Guest Ranch
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   566 Flying L Drive, Hwy 173 S & Wharton Dock Rd, Bandera, TX 78003   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Bandera
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Wonderful place for a very large golf tournament or office party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been coming to Flying L for many, many years, and some years ago it was just an ok place. Under the new management, it is an outstanding place to spend your vacation or just go up for wonderful couple of nights stay. The updated, but country western feel in every single free standing facility takes you back to the trail drive days, but has all of the amenities for the kids of today. Great place, fine service and hospitality delux.

Room Tip: The Lapham facility is unbelievable. Perfect for 10 couples. beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we just had a golf charity event this pass weekend with 80 players and the resort handled everything first class,the rooms were wonderful and the course was in good shape,we will be doing this fun raiser there every year

Room Tip: we sdtayed in the lampass build,very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I just returned from a weekend trip to the ranch. My 2 girls were there with a scout group. Upon checkin, we went to our "room " at the Ft. Apache cabins. Room smelled new, but it was basically a small cabin set on a parking lot on cement blocks. The view is of water and propane tanks. Queen sized bed, bunk beds, small table, and old school TV mounted on the wall. Also microwave and small fridge. There is a bathroom with a shower, but no tub.

We went to the main house to look around and wait for others in our party. My kids enjoyed the petting zoo and playing on the playground.

My kids stayed in the Bunkhouse with their troop. Bunkhouse had lots of room and was like a small house minus the kitchen. Bathroom was like a locker room, 2 stalls and stalls for the shower. Refrigerator older and old style big screen tv in living room.

Dinner was at 5:30. The food here was the worst part. Salad bar hardly had any items, veggies over salted, Prime Rib was so fatty!! No soft drinks, just ice tea and juice. Everyone reaches into a cooler to scoop out ice...there were so many high school kids there, that ice was not sanitary.

The ranch brought out a longhorn to sit on after dinner and take pictures which was fun.

S'mores time was CRAZY. Again...unsanitary...just bags of marshmallows and chocolate in a bowl. Everyone scrambling and reaching in to get the food. Gross!!

Went back to the cabin to sleep, and the bed was HORRIBLE!!! It slanted to the right. I was practically rolling over on my husband all night. Maid service was provided the next morning.

Breakfast was so so. Typical of a hotel. For Starbucks limited menu drinks go to the General Store on property.

We went to the waterpark which was clean and relaxing. Don't be expecting Schlitterbahn or anything. It is similar to a nice neighborhood pool. Tried to order lunch at the pool. They couldn't fry or grill anything and ran out of most everything else. Bring your own towel. I didn't see any provided.

We went on a group horseback ride. They do not REQUIRE nor PROVIDE helmets, so bring your own. Ride was OK. The kids liked it.

Dinner at the Ghost Town was cheesy, and again HORRIBLE food. Beans cooked in water, corn no taste, brisket just awful. My husband who can go with the flow hated the brisket.

Archery was fun, goat herding cute. Headed back to campfire, but I passed on the nightly scramble for S'mores.

I did have a slice of pizza at the bar. AWESOME. EAT THE PIZZA!!

Vending machine in lobby was broken, but alcoholic drinks weren't too expensive.

Did not eat breakfast creek side. Was ready to leave and finally eat.

My kids enjoyed the experience, but I thought it was a little lacking. If we didn't get an all inclusive rate, we would have been nickel and dined for everything...food, smores , kids activities, water park etc. everything has a charge.

Will I go back..maybe...only if I bring my own food, and just for one night. Their food sanitation methods for so many people are really lacking.



Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great time. Staff and food was great. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Went to the Chuck Wagon Dinner Show. What a great experience. Horseback rides were very enjoyable. My son was able to take his first pony ride and had fun in kids club.
The hiking trail down by creek side was a wonderful outdoor activity!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We rented the Holiday suite.It was a very nice room equivalent to a nice one bedroom apartment. There was a fireplace, garden tub, and a king size bed. There also a room with built in bunk beds as well as a sofa bed. When driving in at night there were deer bounding around the grounds.The 'activites' were a bust. Water park area water was freezing, so much chlorine was in the water my kids broke out in a rash. The food was barely edible and not even warm. The advertise entertainment was available on a limited basis and lots of hidden fees. There are many competitors for this type of vacation facility in the area. We will not be return visitors.

Room Tip: Best activities in San Antonio and not related to this hotel. Archaic TVs in room and WiFi not avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Mixed feelings on Flying L guest ranch.

Price for a family of 4 in a villa was $500 total so not inexpensive.
Included in that all inclusive price was breakfast (good) and dinner (so-so) as well as a tractor ride (good but a lot of exhaust fumes) and a cowboy story time and smoores at a campfire (great).

where flying l was not up to par was in the initial guest checkin. We had not signed up for horseback riding (extra cost) in advance and when we arrived we found both the 9:30 and 11:30 slots were all full. There was a 7:30 that was open but seemed early (and cold) but there was also a sign up sheet for private horseback ride. We were told by the front desk staff to go to some other lady to sign up for the private but she said there were no privates- when we went back to the front desk lady to try to figure our what the story was she was first I helpful then actually rude to my wife. I was not impressed at all.

Checking into the room itself was fine, and when the sick baby in the adjoining room was crying the hotel moved us to another room which was nice of them

Unfortunately the second room stunk of either feet or cheese but since we have already had some issues with the front desk and after they were nice enough to move us, we just stayed in the room that night

Regarding horseback riding, even after someone else called and tried to set up another time, we decided to use another riding place in Bandera that was super friendly but I'll write up that in a separate review

All in all - although you can see they were trying I think Flying l still has much work to do

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

If you want an affordble, fun vacation for the whole family, then you have to visit. Golf, water park, ghost town and bbq by the river were just some of the cool events the property has scheduled. Good food, great place to just walk around, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flying L Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying L Guest Ranch

Address: 566 Flying L Drive, Hwy 173 S & Wharton Dock Rd, Bandera, TX 78003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Bandera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Bandera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flying L Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Texas Hill Country. Grab your jeans, boots and hat! The Flying L Guest Ranch is a great place to reconnect with friends and family. Founded in 1947, Flying L Guest Ranch is rich in aviation history. Tread through mile after mile of natural Hill Country woodlands while Horseback Riding. Splash the day away at the Lone Star Lagoon, our full size water park. Tee up a round of golf on our 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Flying L Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying l Guest Ranch Hotel Bandera
Flying l Ranch Hotel Bandera
Flying L Guest Ranch Bandera, Texas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying L Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.