We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jordan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The China Bowl

The China Bowl
1206 Pecan St, Bandera, TX 78003
830-796-8494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Bandera
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bandera, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Jordan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The food is very good. Is your typical Chinese food, but not fast food. The prices are a little high. We mostly order to go, but have used the restaurant on occasion. It is never completely full, but maybe it is because of the time of evening that we go. But if you want Chinese food in Bandera, go here, you will like it..

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bandera
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We've always enjoyed the food, not 5-star but good. The service is speedy & pleasant. The atmosphere is bland & could use an upgrade. The shrimp toast is my favorite. The wine is priced to high for what they are offering.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera, Texas, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrible Manager!Blayne is the best wait staff ever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Blayne our food server went above and beyond, cant say enoigh wonderful thingsabout how courteous and professional he was. However...the Manager is a different story. When I inquired about the volume of the music (too loud) she just replied "Whats wrong witb it?" It just got worse from there. I tried to shed a positive lght by complimenting her wait staff "Blayne". She simply said "Ok" not thank you or anything! Very unprofessional, she seemed annoyed by the compliment and the request to turn down the music.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ridiculously small lunch plate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

While the flavor of the food was fine, the serving size of the lunch plate was ridiculous. I had the Mongolian beef with fried rice and there couldn't have been more than half a cup of each, there was just barely enough food to cover the plate. The won-ton soup had about a cup of broth with one won-ton. What the China Bowl serves as egg rolls are actually small spring rolls. While I was paying the bill my server asked me how was lunch and I responded that I did not get enough to eat, she replied "Really", no apology, no offer to make it right, nothing, if I had known she could care less that I was unsatisfied before I checked out I wouldn't have left a $2.00 tip on the table. Of all the Chinese restaurants I have been to across the U.S., the China Bowl in Bandera TX comes in NUMBER 1 for skimpiest portions. I always steer clear of restaurants with greedy management that pinches pennies on the serving size because you never know where else they might be cutting corners and it is a big red flag that they do not value their customers. I also refuse to return to a restaurant where they ask you how was your meal then do nothing to make it right after you honestly inform them it was unsatisfactory.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

loved the food and the service is good. nice air-conditioned restaurant and friendly staff, very reasonably priced

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The China Bowl also viewed

 

Been to The China Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The China Bowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.