We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Size matters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dixie Dude Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dixie Dude Ranch
Save
You added Dixie Dude Ranch to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   833 Dixie Dude Ranch Road, Bandera, TX 78003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Kensington, Maryland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Size matters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I'm amused by the reviews complaining about room amenties and pricing. If you're looking for a 5-star resort with 1,000 thread count sheets, no, this is not the experience for you. It's a ranch, folks. If you want more of a "pretend" ranch, there are plenty of resort ranches in the area that would be better suited to those expectations. Dixie is a smaller-scale, family-run ranch that provides a far more authentic experience. They also happen to have a sweet piece of hill country to ride into (some of those other ranches are flat as pancakes...no thanks) To those who say they don't mind roughing, but "not at that price," I really have to wonder...what planet are you from? I had my own cabin, two rides a day (at least one of which was tailored for advanced riders like me), and was fed three amazingly hearty meals a day--all for around $150. Here in the Northeast, two hours of trail riding will set you back at LEAST $70. Throw in lodging and meals, and it becomes one of the best bargains in Texas.

Words can't even to begin to describe my experience at this ranch. It's a memory that will stay with me forever, and an experience I hope to repeat again soon. It was my first time there, and I was definitely in the minority. Most of the guests have been coming for years--for over a decade, in some cases. This says it all. If you're looking for a memorable, authentic western riding experience, this is the place. If you're not comfortable with TV-less silence, a few unprogrammed hours a day, and family-style dining where you'll get to know your fellow guests, by all means...check out the larger, more commercial ranches. Disney World, it's not.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    20
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
37
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights, after the schools went back so it was quieter and no kids! We made the best use of 2 trail rides, evening entertainment and 3 fab filling meals every day. Lots to keep us busy yet felt so relaxing and far away from normal life. Great value and couldn't recommend enough.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

As a newly married couple we went when it was way too hot and their were too many kids but nonetheless the ranch still did a great job to give us a great holiday. We were fortunate to have a few adult only trail rides and they were outstanding! Felt like I was actually ridding a horse and not just sitting in a long line of trail rides. The pool was great, especially at night when the sky was full of stars. The food was always satisfying and the accommodations were not elaborate but still clean and comfortable. Would have had more activities if the weather was not so hot. Hiking, fishing, horse shoes, volleyball... all great activities but not when it was 105 F.

Room Tip: The stir up was a great cabin for a married couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We spent two nights at this rustic, working ranch. Nothing fancy, but we weren't looking for fancy. We enjoyed our time. First, the high points. Our 10-yr-old LOVED the horses. She made a couple friends on the first day (a big plus!), and the 3 of them not only rode the horses but learned how to saddle and feed the horses. She's now convincing her friends that they need to go to Dixie Dude Ranch. Another good thing was that they told us if we checked in early (2-3pm), we could ride that afternoon. And the morning we checked out we could ride horses and even stay for lunch, as long as we moved our suitcases out of our cabin by 11am (check out time). That was great, because it allowed for maximum horseback riding for our daughter. Next, the home-style meals were EXCELLENT (breakfast, lunch, and dinner)!!! The swimming pool was reasonably large, clean, and had a "real" deep end (9 ft). The folks that we met (workers as well as owners) were very nice folks. We also enjoyed meeting and visiting with the other guests at the ranch. The only downside of our visit was that we picked an extremely hot time (approx 100 degrees farenheit) to visit, and our particular cabin had "window unit" A/C units but apparently no insulation. By the end of the afternoon, the cabin was nearing 90 degrees inside. Fortunately, the pool was very inviting, and there was also the main "lodge room" where you could hang out and read or watch a movie. They also provided us with a big fan for the room. (Other families didn't seem to have the same heat problem we had, so I think it was just our cabin. If you go in the midst of summer, try to avoid the "Side Saddle" cabin. And FWIW, the nights and mornings were fine because the A/C units were able to cool off the cabin once the sun went down.) Overall, we enjoyed our time and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Avoid the Side Saddle cabin in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, NJ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011 via mobile

This was an awesome experience for first-timers to Texas. Firstly, the location & views are amazing. Gorgeous hill country..it couldn't get better!! All the staff were the friendliest people you'd ever meet! Our twice daily horse rides always took different paths & out cowboy was outstanding! Campfires at night with entertainment...perfect way to end your evenings. The food was also delicious. Only con was I felt the cabins could have been cleaned a bit better. Recommends highly!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

If you are looking for a REAL dude ranch, this one is it. You can do as much or as little as you wish. We sat on the swing on the front porch of our cabin, played horseshoes, went horseback riding, played ping-pong, went hiking and swimming, soaked in the jacuzzi, and SO MUCH more.

The food...what a treat. Real homecooked meals, like homemade fried chicken, BBQ....pancakes, biscuits...desserts that make my mouth water just thinking about them. I put on 5 lbs while we were there and I don't care! Make sure you are there for the chuckwagon breakfast. Ride horses to a bluff and have homemade breakfast at the chuckwagon. DELISH!

The staff...everyone there is part of the family and they make you feel like one too. They truly want to make you happy. Everyone from the cooks (I wanted to take them home with me) to the 3 guide dogs (I would have taken them too) to the trail guides....were so great and very helpful. They are the reason we had so much fun. They love what they do and it shows.

The accomodations: the beds/pillows weren't what we are used to. Bring your own pillows, theirs are flat. There is no cell service, but free long distance on the phones and wireless internet. Cable TV and board games in the main house. Everynight (but Sunday) there is incredible entertainment. The cabins are clean, have towels and extra blankets, ac and heat.

We met several couples around town and compared notes on the resorts they were staying at and ours won. The other couples all said the places they stayed had fancy web sites and made lots of promices but left everyone disappointed. Dixie Dude Ranch exceeded every expectation we had and then some!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

The whole experience was wonderful for my 10-year old grandson and myself. It was a special place to experience something out of our norm - it was safe, it had wonderful staff - in all areas. He didn't want to leave - that says alot for a young boy coming from a city environment. We saw people on computers all the time - and they were missing out on so much of the environment - get out there and enjoy the scenery and everything the ranch and the area has to offer!!! Spending time with each other or with others is such a great time. We met people from all over the US, as well as Sweden, France, England, Germany. We hope to go back next year!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dixie Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dixie Dude Ranch

Address: 833 Dixie Dude Ranch Road, Bandera, TX 78003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Bandera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Bandera
Hotel Class:3 star — Dixie Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dixie Dude Ranch has been showing people all over the world true Texas hospitality for over 75 years. Our all-inclusive package is perfect for people of all ages, solo travelers, couples, and families alike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dixie Dude Ranch Hotel Bandera
Dixie Dude Ranch Bandera, Texas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dixie Dude Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.