We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of OST Restaurant

OST Restaurant
305 Main St, Bandera, TX 78003
830 796 3836
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Bandera
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
West Columbia, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We ate here several times. The service was perfect and the food was good. It's home cooking food. I'm hooked on the other restaurant there called Grotto. Its the bomb!! It's super fresh and always tasty.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    74
    22
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OST is excellent as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Top notch country restaurant for the family. Chicken fried chicken is the best and the staff is friendly and the whole menu is quite good. When in Bandera, OST is a MUST.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the breakfast tacos. Great fresh tortillas and tasty cinnamon bun too. Service was perfect and loved the old feel of the place. We'll be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This place has good food and I like the John Wayne room. I eat here every time I come to Bandera
I recommend it for a goodeal

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrottsville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Home Cookin'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stopped at the OST Restaurant for lunch and then went back for pie later. The food is all homemade and is really good. It is very reasonably priced and you get plenty of it. The restaurant has a welcoming atmosphere. The are saddle bar stools, at the bar, a real Chuckwagon that serves the buffet and a whole room dedicated to John Wayne. The OST offers a daily buffet, with a drink. I got the buffet and it was homemade goodies. My husband got the Country Breakfast which included chicken fried steak, eggs, fried potatoes and Texas Toast. He said it was the best chicken fried steak he ever had. The couple that were with us had the pork chop breakfast and the pattimelt lunch. We were all full. They also have homemade pies. We were so full from lunch that we spent time in town and went back later in the afternoon for pie. We are sure glad we did. The pies are all made by the owner and they were all good. If you are in Bandera, plan on having a meal at the OST Restaurant. You will not be disappointed. Good food, fun atmosphere and a friendly staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OST Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to OST Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OST Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.