We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just So-So” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Jacalito Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Jacalito Mexican Restaurant
1207 Cedar St, Bandera, TX 78003
830-460-3853
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 29 Restaurants in Bandera
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just So-So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Went for Mexican, but was disappointed that all was smothered in a heavy chile gravy. Not my idea of Mexican.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bandera, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We probably won't return here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I ordered the tacquito plate. It came with 2 soft , ground beef tacquitos, rice and beans. The tacquitos were quite flavorless...blah. I asked my hubby how his been enchilada was and he said good. I tried it and it was very flavorful. Chips & salsa cost extra, but we got them. sort of thick chips but the salsa was good-little spicy but not too much. Our waitress was friendly & did a good job. But one of the other waitresses really turned me off. I watched her refill ketchup bottles (or salsa bottles?) and when there was ketchup spilling over the edge of the bottle opening, she just used her bare finger to push it back into the bottle. Who knows what kind of germs she may have had on her hands and now they're in the food customers are going to eat. Unsanitary! Just before that, she had been digging something out from between two cabinets and throw it away. You know how dirt gets in-between cabinets. It made me wonder if she was touching dirt & filth back there and then she used her fingers to touch the ketchup customers would be eating. YUK! A tip for future customers: you aren't brought a bill to your table. When you're finished eating, you just go up to the front counter & your bill should be up there. You pay the cashier, not your waitress. Taste-wise, I would give it a second chance, but I really didn't care for the one waitress there, so in reality, we probably won't go back. We really like the food and professionalism of the folks at Mi Pueblo.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Good mexican food but not the best I've ever had. Large portions, we can never eat everything we're served. The service is good & the prices are good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best in Tex-Mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Food is freshly and well prepared; relaxed atmosphere; homey feel from staff and patrons. Homemade corn tortillas; plates come with beans and potatoes; chorizo and egg; machacado; barbacoa; migas - all are excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Family Style Food and Friendly Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Four of us stopped in for dinner and ordered quesadillas, enchiladas, all plates with rice and beans. The taco chips that preceded the meal were warm and tasted fresh. Salsa was very good. The server was friendly, efficient and helpful. She gladly got some of us coffee after the meal. A handy place to stop for unpretentious, good food.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jacalito Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Jacalito Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Jacalito Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.