We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Elm Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twin Elm Guest Ranch
Save
You added Twin Elm Guest Ranch to your Saves list
810 FM 470, P.O. Box 117, Bandera, TX 78003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Bandera
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

The people were great. The ranch and horses were beautiful. The hayride was a joke since they used our hayride to put out hay and it was two women throwing out the hay with short shorts on and showing their butts when they bent over. Disgusting! Campfire was a disappointment. The guy started the fire and left to go eat supper. While we expected the room to be rustic, we also expected it to be clean and it wasn't. The sheets were filthy, the mattress was so dirty we wondered if it was bedbugs, and the air conditioner shot out dirt and stuff for minutes after we turned it on. The mattress was also so worn down it was unbelievable. We couldn't keep the curtains closed so hope nobody got a free show from us getting dressed and stuff. The faucet in the bathroom dripped constantly. If we wouldn't have spent $324 for our one night stay we would have left without spending the night. Very disappointed and won't be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwinElm, Manager at Twin Elm Guest Ranch, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We are sorry to hear your concerns, for we strive to make each guest comfortable during their stay. I wish to inform you that the mattress is new and the linens freshly laundered before your arrival. Inspections are done regularly. Had this or any matter been brought to our attention we would have gladly addressed it and attended to your needs in every way. We wish for each guests trip to be enjoyable. Thank you and we will continue to strive on all aspects of ones stay with us. Sincere Regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was a last minute trip in Feb 2014 and for the record - I did a "Room Only" and did not participate in the other activities or food options. GOOD: Typical dude ranch with 50s bunkhouse style cabins, big corral with horses for trail riding, large RV park in back, recreation room, pool. The "Room Only" rate was 1/2 price ($61.00). Reservation by phone was easy and received an email confirmation right away. I arrived after the office closed so the key was left in mailbox. BAD: Room is VERY basic. Full bed [comfy but pillows and bedspread smell like sweat/dirty socks], Junior size twin bunkbeds, small bathroom, tiny shower, thin walls/windows. Door has a crack above and below. WORST [not exactly Management's fault]: My neighbors who spent most of their time on the shared porch a few feet from my door, woke up at 7:30am both mornings, smoking, talking, laughing, and on Saturday night came in at 11pm and talked/smoked/laughed until 2am. There was NO WAY to avoid the noise as there is no TV in room and the a/c cycled on/off due to it being in the 60s. With the office closing at 5pm, there is no one to call to report a disturbance other than the Sheriff. To top it off, there was a huge spider on the wall above the bunkbeds. Obviously, the cracks above the door do not deter them. I would not stay here again unless I had my own RV and parked way out in the back section. The management needs to enforce a "Quiet Time" policy.

Room Tip: Bring your RV - do not stay in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwinElm, Manager at Twin Elm Guest Ranch, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are sorry to hear about this matter after your stay, as we would have been more than happy to resolve any issues while you were here, using the contact numbers on the office door. We strive on cleanliness and though the pillows are new and comforters freshly washed we would gladly replace any linens you may have needed. We wish our guests to always be comfortable and enjoy their stay at the Ranch! Again we apologize for any inconvenience. Warm Regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jobstown, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

stayed 3 days in their Rv park, horseback riding, swimming in their pool, enjoying a lovely group of lovely people. Their facilities are nice and clean, plenty of hot water. On Saturday night they have a Rodeo. Was very glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a fantastic time. I visited this ranch with my parents ( I am in my late 20's) None of us had visited a ranch before or horse ridden but are into trying new things and some adventure, we all had a REALLY good time. It was personally what I would expect from and ranch and more. Not a 5* hotel but cute rustic cabins including air conditioning & wifi which I hadn't expected. The staff were great, super friendly and personable.

The trail rides were great. We were there for 2 nights and had 3 rides in total. As nervous riders we came out of the experience comfortable & would go again.

My only note was that we had a 2 bedroom cabin but there was no door in between the bedrooms, just an archway which isn't ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for several days, and loved every minute. It's not fancy, but it's fun to stay on a ranch, ride horses several times a day, go on a hayride, sit about the campfire, etc. we stayed in the lodge...for just the 2 of us. There is no tv in the room, but it's well air conditioned. All of our meals were included, which were just fine. Again, nothing elegant...like pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage....chili dogs, hamburgers, chicken fried steak, chicken and rice. No booze is served there, but you're welcome to being it in, take it with yum to dinner, the campfire, etc. we loved the horse riding. The trail rides were the best I've ever had...thru rivers, up hills, into canyons, thru fields. The horses were all great and responsive. In the summer they have their own rodeo on the weekends with the ranch wranglers. We all went to a ranch rodeo, which is fun. Very different from a process all rodeo. The wranglers were so nice, helpful and were always there to see we were enjoying ourselves. At night e erroneous goes to the campfire to socialize...all the workers and guests...so it's fun to build s'mores and relax. We just loved it. We're thinking of going back for,Thanksgiving! Great place for families...they have cabins that accommodate several. There is also a game room, but it's pretty sparse. It's more about socializing. Plus it's fun to hear the chuck wagon triangle ringing you for mealtime!

Room Tip: If you're a couple go for the lodge. You'll have your own room, porch with chairs, etc. th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTIN
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

All the pieces are in place, but the magic words are missing. Beautiful location, horses, a creek, a rec room, ranch hands, acreage... but no glue holding it all together. We brought a group of 15 to Twin Elm and told them we were spending the day, scoping it out for a future stay. Asked for a ride and some roping. Well, the time for our ride came and went, and the wranglers were nowhere to be found. The manager did her best to locate them but to no avail. She tried to make us comfortable, offered us lemonade and cookies and we hung out in the rec room and an hour later they mosied in, and eventually things got sorted out. The rec room was worn but functional, and the kids had an enjoyable time there. So one gets the feeling that this place is just OK but could be a great guest ranch if someone added some strong management and a little "special sauce." The dinner, for example, was meat loaf. Meat loaf I can get in a NY City cafeteria. What is needed here is a little imagination. So... should you go to Twin Elms? I guess you could do worse. It is what it is.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwinElm, Manager at Twin Elm Guest Ranch, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We apologize for any misunderstanding during your day trip to the Ranch. Our wranglers were very happy to accommodate your group on your trail ride when they returned from the previous one. We take pride in our employee family atmosphere and are happy to go out of our way to make our guests happy and surely hope you enjoyed the ride. Our cook staff is professional and I am sorry the choice of menu did not meet your criteria. We wish you would have given it a try! And we hope in the future you will give us the opportunity to show you another great day at the Twin Elm. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We had no tv but when your in the country, you shouldn't care. It was basic but cheap. Enjoyed the game room and watched movies in there. Went horseback riding and had a blast. Would stay here again. The couple that take care of the horses were wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twin Elm Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Elm Guest Ranch

Address: 810 FM 470, P.O. Box 117, Bandera, TX 78003
Location: United States > Texas > Bandera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Bandera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Twin Elm Guest Ranch Hotel Bandera
Twin Elm Guest Ranch Bandera, Texas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin Elm Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.