We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST IN THE BUSINESS!!! LOVE IT MORE AND MORE EVERY TIME...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackberry Farm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackberry Farm
Save Saved
You added Blackberry Farm to your Saves list
1471 West Millers Cove Road, Walland, TN 37886   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
new york, ny
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“BEST IN THE BUSINESS!!! LOVE IT MORE AND MORE EVERY TIME...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

The real review on Blackberry Farm.
Blackberry Farm, hands down, is our favorite place to visit for relaxion, in the world. That being said I'd like to start with negatives. THERE ARE NONE!

Blackberry Farm is the kind of magical place that will temporarily turn even the most disgruntled, miserable people, into carefree, fun-loving souls. Everytime we are at Blackberry Farm, all of the guests that we casually speak to, those who we share stories with at the evening bonfire, or those that we shoot a game of pool with after dinner; every single one is having the time of their life, and most are repeat guests. Not one time, did I hear a negative comment uttered. All of the guests always have expressed the same sentiments, and they all treat Blackberry Farm as their home away from home, a place that nobody wants to share with even their closest friends, fearing that they themselves might call up for a reservation someday, and not have a room available due to growing popularity.

Ok, lets get on with the good stuff...

I'd like to point out that this place is nearly impossible to leave, once you step in you become part of the resort. The world around you, and all of your previous cares, blur and fade away following the first vista your eyes look upon, or first piece of food that passes your lips.

Blackberry farm is expensive and worth even more. The resort, during the last few years has received top honors from Zagat, Travel and Leisure, Conde Nast, Gourmet, Andrew Harper, and many other publications. When I say top honors, I mean myself and all the other repeat guests are not the only ones who thinks the service and food are the best in the United States, or the world!!!
I have stayed at several properties that comprise the "world's best", and I hate to repeat myself, but nothing gets better than these thousands of acres in Walland, TN. The One and Only resorts, Amanresorts, Rosewood, Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, and Oberoi (all of which I am a big fan of) all should start taking lessons from Blackberry Farm. And now, thanks to the big-name travel magazines, they have to.

The twenty minute drive from the ultra clean Knoxville airport (which is quite refreshing coming from Jfk, La Guardia or Newark), is pretty unremarkable. Some vistas, but nothing out of the ordinary along the way. Then you turn up Millers Cove rd, and on the left you see that the beginning of that white fence that will never leave your mind for years to come. You go through the gates and pull up to the reception. Immediately the well trained valets take your car, check you in, give you a tour and map of the enormous property, a bottle of water, the key to your room, your golf cart, and off you go entering pure bliss. The property itself, I will not delve into for it must be kept a surprise for those who have not been. As for the rooms, a few are small, however after staying in queen and king Estate rooms, as well as the luxurious cottage suites, my preference is sometimes the smaller queen estate rooms. We are visiting primarily for the property and the food. The room is secondary. We are here to escape the garbage of the world, and that is done outdoors somewhere on the 4000 acres, not in the confines of a room. That being said, the antique furniture in all rooms fits perfectly, and the beds with the Frette linens and plump featherbed tops, are more comfortable than any bed I have ever slept on away from home.

Exploring the property you will find: Horseback riding, fly-fishing (endorsed by Orvis), a luxurious spa, hiking, biking, canoeing, horse drawn carriage rides, a beautiful swimming pool, tennis courts, shuffleboard, and other activities that I didn't participate in. You can take a hot-air balloon over the mountains, you can drive a Lexus of your choice (on the house) and take it off property to explore the national park, you can go white-water rafting, or play a round of golf nearby. There is a small 24-hour fitness center with top of the line commercial precor equipment and some free weights, but its really a shame to be indoors at a place like this. The preferred activity seems to be just lounging on the rocking chairs and taking in the amazing views. Indoors, to keep busy they provide countless books, games, billiards, and those famous hand carved Stave puzzles.
The staff here are levels above the rest, always professional and polished without being the least bit stuffy. They always call us by name and usually anticipate our needs almost before the desire to ask for something even crosses our mind! I'm not talking about only the simple textbook stuff. The staff here are trained and even encouraged to think outside the box. A few stays ago, one waiter overheard one of my party mention that it was a little chilly in the room while dressing for dinner. Without saying a word to us, housekeeping was notified and the thermostat in room was a cozy 74 degrees when we returned from dinner. I only know this because I made it a point to ask the concierge the next day, for as if by magic the room seemed to warm up. No note was left by the staff, the temperature was just subtly adjusted. That is service!

The golf carts are the favorite mode of transportation around property. You literally get to tool around all day long and feel like a young soul while taking in all the gorgeous short and long range vistas, and tiny nooks that make up Blackberry Farm. Then, overnight your personal golfcart is washed, charged up, and ready to go the next morning.
I will not spend a lot of time raving about the food and wine, because as you probably figured out by now, it is absolutely the best! Nothing we have ever eaten beats this style of food that Chef Fleer coined; Foothills Cuisine. When we eat at Daniel, Le Bernadin, Jean Georges, Bouley, Per Se, Peter Lugers, Charlie Trotters, Aujourd'hui, French Laundry, or anywhere else for that matter, we always find ourselves comparing some aspect of the food to Blackberry Farm, and then we usually discuss when we can book our next trip to Tennessee. The wine list is presented in a book resembling the thickness of a bible, and they are never short of the exotic, rare alcohols that we noticed many of their discerning guests specifically request. The resident sommelier Mr. Chabot is always patient, friendly, and extremely skilled in selecting appropriate pairings and his knowledge of specific wines and vineyards. His talent, in my opinion exceeds the Sommeliers at Zagat 28's and 29's around the country, and he is on his way to becoming a Master Sommelier. Dining at Blackberry will spoil you from Breakfast to Dinner and everywhere in between.

Then, sadly, comes time for your departure and the valet brings back your just washed car packed with luggage, driving directions, water and those gourmet boxed lunches for the road. Sometimes we start planning our next visit right there on the way back to the airport!!!

There are many facets to Blackberry Farm, I only spoke of a few. Blackberry Farm has reached the top and they seem to be constantly striving for more. With room rates starting over five hundred dollars, Blackberry Farm really does cater to the upper class and groups of executives. It would be difficult to imagine a better location for a wedding or a family gathering. We have run into movie actors, rockstars, politicians, top execs, and everyday folks like ourselves, all there for complete privacy and relaxation.
Blackberry Farm seems to me to be the Loro Piana of the fashion world; The name that everyone "in the know", knows, and nobody else has heard of. The purest fabrics tailored for a clientele who live a lifestyle of excellence and will never settle for anything less. Blackberry Farm, in my opinion, takes that place in the hotel industry.
Blackberry Farm has claimed first place and is running away with it.

  • Liked — Best food, views, and service...
  • Tips/Secrets — Go soon before Blackberry Farm becomes even more popular... Let Ruth give you a massage at the spa...
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    38
    20
    21
    18
See reviews for
32
181
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
orlando
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

this was the best experience i have ever been on! i went horse back riding last year and ever since i got back to my city life in florida i have been horseback riding and now i have my own horses, property, and we are finishing building a 6stall barn! i am so glad i went to blackberry and they inspired me as much as they relaxed me! the food is incredible! and the adventures and ruth is great at the spa! the golf carts are great and the property is so well maintained and green! fishing on wallad or the trout pond was so peaceful. seeing all the animals brings you closer to nature. the rest you have to see for yourself!
-gigi

  • Liked — its all fun!
  • Disliked — i liked nothing least
  • Tips/Secrets — have fun!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2006

This was our fourth and probably our last visit to Blackberry Farm.

We found the young staff rude, immature and unaccommodating in a "world class luxury resort". They gush when you arrive, but then have an attitude problem that was evident with all the guests during our stay.

If you are going for BBF and expect to do business while there, forget it. Wireless internet as advertised is not available in the cottages. There was always a line waiting for the wireless service in the community cottage. The printer in the business conference room was out of order. We had an unexpected business transaction develop before we started out trip and needed to internet access with a printer. We had to email our document download to the front desk from the community cottage laptop then go to the front desk where they relunctantly went on line to retrieve and then had to go downstairs to the printer to get the document. Their "it's our pleasure" didn't really ring true. They have four laptops in the main reception area, for what I don't know. One gentleman complained that the laptops at he community cottage were all in use and he had to check his email from overseas. Three of the four laptops in the reception were not working and a staff member was using the fouth. Finally the staff member reluctanly said he would log off the laptop and allow the guest to sign on.

There were also complaints about the outdated and broken equipment in the "fitness room". Room service didn't show until after lunch to make up our room. One woman complained about the lighting in the bathroom and asked for a makeup mirror which they told her they use to have but not any more. Then when she left the girls make sarcastic remarks amounst themselves. The pantry was well stocked with free snacks, but there was only one bottle of red wine available.

Those looking for a quiet stay during the week should be cautioned that they are building new units, and while the Holly Cottages are down the hill from the construction, you can hear the chain saws and hammers starting at about 8:00AM and going til about 3:30PM.
I called for spa services at 9:00AM and got a recording. Never tried back again.

THE BEST thing about BBF is the Chef and the staff at the restaurant. Without exception the dinners were some of the best we have had in traveling the world. The wine steward could use a few lessons in diplomacy and patience, but the rest of the staff was fantasic, including the most attentive bartender going.

Lunch was somewhat limited in selection. It would have been nice to have a salad offering. The menu was limited to sandwiches and one soup of the day.

Overall, we probably would not return to BBF except for the beautiful scenery in the Smokies and the food. But then, it's an expensive accommodation for a wonderful dinner.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

This was the most incredible place that my husband and I have been! I have to say it was better than the Four Seasons Maui where we spent a week last year.

We spent a 4 days/3nights in June for our 11 year anniversary. The service was warm and attentive. The cottage we stayed was lovingly furnitured with comfortable antiques while also having an incredibly modern bathroom. The grounds were beautiful and relaxing - we explored the trails, swam in the pool, played croquet, drank cocktails on the veranda while watching the sunset.

We are BIG foodies - every meal here was incredible and compared to 5 star restaurants in NY and San Francisco. It was worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

The property is incredibly large and picturesque. The food is great and the cottage suite room was perfect for what we were looking for. We dropped our son off at the Kids club in the morning and he did not want to leave. Included in the price of the room was the food and beverages (excluding wine) and also the "Dinner and a movie" for kids which allowed us to have a leisurely dinner while our son ate dinner and watched a movie with several other children. We had a great time biking, fishing, horseback riding, and driving the golf cart around. It was a fantansic experience that was worth the money and we will definitely go back.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

My husband and I spent 4 days at Blackberry Farm to celebrate our 20th anniversary. It was the most fabulous place we have ever stayed. The staff is warm, genuine, kind and most eager to please. The food is beyond incredible - fresh, healthy and very yummy. Our cottage was large, cozy, beautifully deocrated and absolutely fabulous. We fished, rode bikes, played tennis, swam, canoed, borrowed a Lexus convertible to drive onto the parkway into the mountains, had a spa treatment, and went on a wildflower hike with Dwight up into the Smoky Mountains - it was a wonderful experience. Dwight is a retired ranger, and he knows every inch of the Smokies. He, like everyone else we encountered at BF, was charming and delightful company. We loved having a picnic lunch in the heirloom garden with John the Gardener - he is a wonderful man who shared old seeds with us. One day we ordered a picnic lunch - they set it up on a table in the boat house. It was just absolutely beyond any words wonderful. Every detail is perfectly arranged, and the staff takes great pride in meeting your whims and needs. The only problem we encountered at BF was the knowledge that no place will ever compare to it. Yes, it is expensive, but it is totally worth it and I will never forget our time there!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

The food was fantastic, but why in the world did I pay $1200/night for such an incredibly tiny room? Wow was I duped. The golf cart rental is the biggest scam I've seen in a while. I would only recommend staying here if you have "sucker" written on your forehead. Good luck.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackberry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Farm

Address: 1471 West Millers Cove Road, Walland, TN 37886
Location: United States > Tennessee > Walland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of America's most celebrated intimate luxury hotels beckons discerning guests who aspire to escape modern-day frenzy and slip into a Blackberry state of mind. Situated on a pastoral 4,200-acre estate in the Great Smoky Mountains, Blackberry will show you the many reasons why it is one of the top rated properties in the world ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackberry Farm Tennessee
Blackberry Farm Hotel Walland
Blackberry Farm Tn
Blackberry Farm Walland
Blackberry Farm Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackberry Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.