We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackberry Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blackberry Farm to your Saves list
Blackberry Farm
1471 West Millers Cove Road, Walland, TN 37886   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
chicago, illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An incredible Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

The property is incredibly large and picturesque. The food is great and the cottage suite room was perfect for what we were looking for. We dropped our son off at the Kids club in the morning and he did not want to leave. Included in the price of the room was the food and beverages (excluding wine) and also the "Dinner and a movie" for kids which allowed us to have a leisurely dinner while our son ate dinner and watched a movie with several other children. We had a great time biking, fishing, horseback riding, and driving the golf cart around. It was a fantansic experience that was worth the money and we will definitely go back.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    42
    25
    21
    18
See reviews for
34
193
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

My husband and I spent 4 days at Blackberry Farm to celebrate our 20th anniversary. It was the most fabulous place we have ever stayed. The staff is warm, genuine, kind and most eager to please. The food is beyond incredible - fresh, healthy and very yummy. Our cottage was large, cozy, beautifully deocrated and absolutely fabulous. We fished, rode bikes, played tennis, swam, canoed, borrowed a Lexus convertible to drive onto the parkway into the mountains, had a spa treatment, and went on a wildflower hike with Dwight up into the Smoky Mountains - it was a wonderful experience. Dwight is a retired ranger, and he knows every inch of the Smokies. He, like everyone else we encountered at BF, was charming and delightful company. We loved having a picnic lunch in the heirloom garden with John the Gardener - he is a wonderful man who shared old seeds with us. One day we ordered a picnic lunch - they set it up on a table in the boat house. It was just absolutely beyond any words wonderful. Every detail is perfectly arranged, and the staff takes great pride in meeting your whims and needs. The only problem we encountered at BF was the knowledge that no place will ever compare to it. Yes, it is expensive, but it is totally worth it and I will never forget our time there!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

The food was fantastic, but why in the world did I pay $1200/night for such an incredibly tiny room? Wow was I duped. The golf cart rental is the biggest scam I've seen in a while. I would only recommend staying here if you have "sucker" written on your forehead. Good luck.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2006

My husband and I enjoyed a pleasant two days at Blackberry Farm. I agree with most, if not all, the comments made by the March 29, 2006 reviewer. We stayed in the Guest House. Our room was small for the price but very pleasant. Only one other couple was staying in the house, and we could hear them through the walls. They didn't bother us, but I can imagine that a full house might have been a bit noisy.

We loved the grounds. The farm is absolutely gorgeous, especially in the spring. We loved using the golf cart to tool around the paths through the woods and to stop by the creek to enjoy the hammock, etc. For some reason, we weren't charged to use the cart, but I understand it is 10 dollars an hour or about 70 dollars a day. The carriage ride at 300 dollars would be a total rip off.

The food was good but not great. The chef tries to be a bit too creative at times. We did enjoy the numerous amuse bouche presented to us. The table service on our first evening was poor. We enjoyed good service the remainder of the visit.

We are widely traveled, and I find it hard to rate this venue as top notch, but it is a lovely although overpriced place.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

Too beautiful to describe.....too amazing for words.....excellent from every angle....food, accomodations, level of service and just the most recommendable place I've been to. Couldn't have been more perfect...my only complaint, NOTHING to complain about!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2006

This review is to warn coporate groups to beware of booking dinners at Blackberry Farm. We had the bad fortune of having dinner April 6, 2006 on the patio in 48 degree weather. All the ladies had to be handed a blanket in order to be somewhat warmer and even the men in their jackets if they were seated on the periphery of the patio were cold.
This dinner had been planned months in advance and it is well known that there is no such thing as reliable weather in April. The meal was served on cold plates, the asparagus was raw and cold and the ribs while delicious hardly seemed worthy of the price paid.
If the Blackberry Farm knew they couldn't serve us inside, they should have said so. Since many of the guests they served that night were staying at the Maple Leaf Lodge which is also owned by the same owners as Blackberry Farm, it would have been easy to cater a simple dinner there along with the reception for the local dignitaries who had also not been informed that the dinner would take place outdoors.
This event had been planned to greet a delegation from France and frankly it appeared to me that they were taken advantage of.

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2006

For the money, Blackberry Farm is not as good as it should/could be. My experiences and observations were good and bad as follows:
1) It was several days before I received any confirmation of my online booking, and then I received confirmation only because I phoned to inquire about status.
2) The staff is nice, pleasant, young, not-polished, and not-experienced. If you are accustomed to high-end service, you will be disappointed. If you like friendly, bumblingly young country folk - you will think the staff is fine.
3) DO NOT STAY IN THE MAIN HOUSE. Rooms are insanely noisy; TVs are placed so you can not see them from bed. Rooms do not have frigs/ice - you have to go to the common areas to get ice from a small bucket. everytime we went, the ice was always melted, and calling for ice usually took 20-30 minutes for delivery. Bathrooms are very basic. Closets are small and hanging rods are too low for dresses. Views from upstairs rooms look over the rooftop conditioners. There is no coffee-service in the room.
4) When you check-in, beware! While you are checking in, valets will secretly be emptying the contents of your car into golf-carts (cars are not driven on the property). The first time this happened, I was furious and felt it was an evasion of my privacy. Oh - that reminds me, you can't drive your car on site so you will need to walk (up hills) and/or rent a golf cart for $75/day to get around.
5) If you sign up for extra services, be warned that you will be charged taxes and services fees on top of the listed fees.
6) On top of the $1000+/day room charge, there is 4% occupancy tax, 9% sales tax, and 18% service charges.
7) The cottages are beautiful, private, and large. They are filled with down furniture and beds, cozy porches, fireplaces, large spa-baths and wet-bars.
8) The food is very good and the restaurant atmosphere is warm and polished.
9) The horse-backing riding is enjoyable.
10) There is nothing to do near Blackberry Farm, so be sure you will be happy with the activities at Blackberry Farm.
11) Fly-fishing at Blackberry farm is 'catch and release'. You can't keep/eat what you catch.
12) Everyone is served breakfast in your room on Sunday mornings, but you will not be given a choice of food or beverages. If you want de-caf coffee or hot tea, or something other than muffins, you will be disappointed.
13) If you want a morning newspaper, you will have to hike (or drive your $75/day golf cart) to the main house to pick one up.
14) There are alot of bugs/mosquitos around in summer - bring bug spray.
15) There is no tipping of staff. Instead, an 18% service charges is added to your bill.
16) Dress is casual during the day (Jeans, shorts, bathing suits). Dress is dressy-casual for dinner. Men should bring jackets for dinner.
17) The wine list is wonderful and large.
IN SUMMARY - If you want privacy, relaxation, and good food in mountain-farm setting, and you don't mind spending $1500/day for it, then reserve a cottage and have a good time. If you are accustom to 4-Season type service and you like 4-Season type service - then book your next trip at a 4-Seasons resort and not at Blackberry Farm.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackberry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Farm

Address: 1471 West Millers Cove Road, Walland, TN 37886
Location: United States > Tennessee > Walland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of America's most celebrated intimate luxury hotels beckons discerning guests who aspire to escape modern-day frenzy and slip into a Blackberry state of mind. Situated on a pastoral 4,200-acre estate in the Great Smoky Mountains, Blackberry will show you the many reasons why it is one of the top rated properties in the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Blackberry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Farm Tennessee
Blackberry Farm Hotel Walland
Blackberry Farm Tn
Blackberry Farm Walland
Blackberry Farm Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackberry Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.