We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total immersion into the foothills of the Smoky Mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackberry Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blackberry Farm to your Saves list
Blackberry Farm
1471 West Millers Cove Road, Walland, TN 37886   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Trussville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Total immersion into the foothills of the Smoky Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Blackberry Farm is an experience, not just a place. From the heavy, morning-misted dew, to the scenic view of the Smoky Mountains, the setting could not be more perfect. We have visited at least ten times. The property never misses a beat. It isn't stuffy. It is like visiting grandma, except grandma is an extremely talented chef! The food is worthy of it's own review with all the delights of the fresh garden fare. When my husband and I visit, he hikes. I, generally, ride horses with the wonderfully experienced equestrian staff, or visit the world class spa for a hot stone massage. Laid back relaxation at it's very best. Our favorite getaway!

Room Tip: We originally stayed in a cottage, but found that we enjoyed the guesthouse or main house for it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    46
    26
    22
    18
See reviews for
37
203
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

"Nobody does it better." That could be the theme song of this dedicated crew of hard working young men and women. The service is beyond excellent. They actually make you feel like you are Royalty. They do not know the meaning of the word "No." Any possible thing you can think of to make your visit better, just ask and ye shall receive. The food is beyond gourmet. It approaches Gastronomic Perfection. Seven course meals are the norm in The Barn dining room. Every item on the menu is fresh, flavorful and superbly crafted to fulfill the Chef's dream of culinary mastery. The rooms are lovely and so very comfortable. I doubt that I will ever again experience the complete and total feeling of being pampered like we were during the three days we visited this charming mountain estate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The service is impeccable! My husband and I have been there twice and the second time was even better. Each person there amazed us. I hope it always stays this way.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

A tall order for a place like Blackberry Farm, considering all that my wife and I had read about it and for what they were charging , but they delivered. Went for 4 days/3 nights at end of August to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. Food was unreal. After a few meals we just stopped asking each other how we liked our dish. It was sick how good everything was. Nothing was put in front of us over the four days that was not remarkable in it's own way. Setting was magical. Property was suffering due to lack of rain, but everything was still well tended to despite the tough conditions. Long views and comfortable places to recline all about the property made it special. Service was first class. Everywhere you went and no matter your desire the staff aimed to please. The ratio of 2 staff to every 1 guest didn't hurt either. A few chinks in the armor to note though, because it wouldn't be fair not to mention them, 1) our beautiful cottage was over by the dairy barn and apparently they keep some dogs over there to protect the sheep etc.., well two out the three nights we were awakened by a barking dog that carried on far too long. Sorry, but that we could have done without. 2) The spa was lame. We dropped a nice chunk of change on some services after we spent the morning hiking and we were both disappointed. LIsten, this place does so many things right, and pulling off a top notch spa is very difficult, so it wasn't that big of a deal. We just made a mental note to skip that next time. And yes, there will be a next time, because BF is the type of place that, while you're there, your thinking about friends/family that you can't wait to share it with.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

At the beginning of August we enjoyed an exceptional visit to Blackberry Farm with our children and grandchildren. Although we were there for business, we never felt like we worked at all. We were all made to feel like we were coming home to Tennessee! Everything and everyone could not have been nicer or more accommodating.

Our rooms were all beautiful and very relaxing. Our children and grandchildren stayed in the Holly Glade Cottages where rollaways were brought in for the little ones. There was plenty of room to maneuver and the bathrooms were beautiful and perfect for the young people. They were close enough to the wonderful breakfasts in the main house, but found that ordering room service was just as tasty on those lazy mornings. We old grandparents stayed in a Hill Cottage which included its own golf cart for getting around the beautiful property. It was a very large "room" which included a very roomy living area, a huge bathroom with double sinks, a large shower for 2 (or more), a dressing room/closet and a screened porch with a rock fireplace. We would love to experience the porch in the fall or winter where we could start a roaring fire while sipping hot chocolate or brandy.

There are so many ways to enjoy a stay at BF! While there, the little people loved learning how to groom a pony and then took their first rides on a horse. Everyone knew how to make them feel comfortable with their new experience. Several of us took our fly rods to the creek which runs through the property while the grandchildren enjoyed their time playing in the creek (when they were not in the pool) There is a wonderful swing just outside the main house which overlooks some of the property and the Smokeys. Young and old loved it. It was soooo relaxing and the view amazing. In a few years the farm will be producing truffles and we got a kick out of meeting their "truffle dogs" they are breeding. What wonderful little dogs! The 5 grandchildren took advantage of Camp Blackberry. They absolutely loved it. They range in ages 3-7 and were excited about going each day. One said that it was the best camp she'd ever been too.

One of the most special people at Blackberry is Joseph, the chef at the Barn. He works his magic and creativity each night in the beautiful dining room. We were "blown away" with his delicious creations and looked forward to each evening. Go ahead and indulge. The meals (minus the alcohol) are included in your stay. They will gladly work with you if you have dietary requests and will remember these throughout your stay.

One day we decided to leave the property and go exploring and we did it in style. They gave us a Lexus convertible to drive...how fun was that! We took box lunches to the river about 30 minutes away and the kids had a great time! We, then, took a ride to Cades Cove, an 11 mile circle where you can see old homesteads, churches and cemetaries, and, if lucky, a few black bear.

After a full day, we loved going back to our cottages and raid the refrigerator or the box of goodies that were always replenished. There is no charge except for the alcohol.

I could go on and on, but, believe me, we are saving our pennies (dollars) and look forward to our next visit to this special Farm.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

What a perfect resort in all aspects from the accommodations, to the dining, to the service, to the grounds and activities. Pure perfection all around. Would come here in any season.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Blackberry Farm was a business person's dream getaway. It was so peaceful and serene.
I stayed in one of the cottages which was absolutely georgeous and so inviting and quiet. It had a fireplace and a nice porch with chairs for relaxing. Bathrooms were big with granite countertops and a soaking tub and separate shower. The grounds are just beautiful. In one of the restaurants, you overlook a small lake with a gazebo. The main
barn restaurant is just breathtaking. It has been rebuilt on the farm with wood from a barn
from Pennsylvania. Everything about the farm is so wonderful.

Room Tip: Cottages are fabulously decorated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackberry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Farm

Address: 1471 West Millers Cove Road, Walland, TN 37886
Location: United States > Tennessee > Walland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of America's most celebrated intimate luxury hotels beckons discerning guests who aspire to escape modern-day frenzy and slip into a Blackberry state of mind. Situated on a pastoral 4,200-acre estate in the Great Smoky Mountains, Blackberry will show you the many reasons why it is one of the top rated properties in the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Blackberry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackberry Farm Tennessee
Blackberry Farm Hotel Walland
Blackberry Farm Tn
Blackberry Farm Walland
Blackberry Farm Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackberry Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.