We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, out of the way place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Mill Restaurant

Spice Mill Restaurant
| Cockleshell Beach, Turtle Beach, St. Kitts
469-6455
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Suffern, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice, out of the way place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very pretty restaurant on the Caribbean. Good food and service. Nothing extraordinary. Took about 25 minutes from the Marriott, on a very bumpy road.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    62
    23
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The pictures you’ve seen of the Spice Mill just don’t do it justice – you have to visit the restaurant to truly experience everything it has to offer. The food, the view, the service…all 5 star. We arrived late afternoon and stayed through the evening. Absolutely one of the best meals I’ve ever had. We tried a little bit of almost everything, but for us the biggest hits were the conch fritters, seafood soup, and mahi. Also, don’t overlook the risotto – it is out of this world!
The restaurant is located on a picturesque beach with unbelievable views. It feels like you can almost touch Nevis in the distance. The restaurant is very unique; a 3-walled dining room looks out over an open-air deck and separate beach bar hut. An old Carib canoe is the base for the bar and fishermen’s’ baskets create unforgettable chandeliers in the dining room. It really feels quite modern without competing with its natural surroundings. Aesthetically, possibly one of the coolest places I’ve ever seen. Most importantly, Roger and Salisha, the owners, are very welcoming and fantastic hosts.
I can’t wait to bring my family and friends back in June! By far the best restaurant we have visited in the Caribbean. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Went for a late lunch to this beautiful restaurant. I had the chicken curry and it was superb! The view of the sea is breathtaking and the beach in front is so serene! GO, you won't be disappointed!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, UK
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Ok not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived here one night with no booking - poor staff almost died!! The restuarant was almost full (its small so maybe 20 people max!!) and clearly they couldnt deal with another 7 (3 adults and 4 kids). We were in no rush so chose to drink at the bar first. Lovely drinks and friendly bar man, great choice of cocktails.

The menu was small but delicious. Took a while to order our food once seated but then arrived quite quickly. The staff agreed that the childrens food came with a side dish however when they arrived they didnt, which meant we had 4 disappointed and hungry children. The total bill seemed very expensive for what we actually ate.

The managers seemed like lovely people but running a very disorganised business!! No one seemed to have clear jobs.

The venue itself looked lovely. Modern but appropriate for the area and I guess a lovely daytime beach bar. We didnt bother to come back ;-(

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great view, nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a nice quiet lunch at the Spice Mill on a non cruise day. It's a more formal place than most of the shacks on the beach. The view of Nevis was amazing. Although the menu was limited due it being a quiet day, we practically had the restaurant and beach to ourselves. I had a fish sandwich and my wife had the wahoo, both excellent. The lunch menu was similarly priced to Cathy's in Frigate Bay and for my money, this was better.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Mill Restaurant also viewed

 
St. Kitts, St. Kitts and Nevis
Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
 

Been to Spice Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Mill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.