We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a peaceful and beautiful place to spend a getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Top of Townsend

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Top of Townsend
Save
You added Top of Townsend to your Saves list
460 Boat Gunnel Road, Townsend, TN 37882   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Such a peaceful and beautiful place to spend a getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We truly enjoyed out time here. It is a very relaxing atmosphere. The cabin was clean and inviting when we arrived. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We will be taking more trips to Townsend and staying in a Top of Townsend cabin.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed this time over Thanksgiving Holiday. Our family of three shared many laughs in the Triple J. We had a fully stocked kitchen, so getting that Turkey and fixings done was not an issue. The view from this cabin was breathtaking day and night. About 5:30-6:00 am my Husband saw a flying squirrel on the back porch. While the rest of us did not see that, there is plenty of wild life at Cades Cove! Been there twice and was blessed with seeing a bear both times. The cabin was clean and sparkly! Ed and Virginia were more than hospitable with anything we needed. Some of my family came to visit us while at the cabin and we all decided to family reunion at their cabins in the summer! I would send anyone here...can't beat the price for all the cabins provide and God provides from their wonderful mountain top!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We've been here four or five times over the past six years, and we always enjoy our stay. The location is very pretty and forested--the cabins aren't too close to each other, so they have a nice private feel. There is a narrow, steep drive to get up to the office and cabins, but keep in mind you ARE on a mountain! We've stayed in most of the cabins, and liked them all; this time, we were in the White Pines cabin, which is one of my favorites. Very reasonably priced for how much space you have, and the full kitchen, with full-sized appliances, is really convenient. The cabin has a nice wraparound deck with plenty of seating, a grill (charcoal), and the hot tub. I suppose the cabins are showing their age somewhat--in this one, the lights on the hot tub didn't work and one of the stove burners didn't work. Note, though, that these things seemed pretty minor, so we didn't bother talking to the owners, who we've always found to be very friendly, to try to get them fixed. The furniture is rather old, but it's not bad. My husband and I both slept pretty well. I loved being able to keep a fire going in the fireplace--it didn't smoke, and relaxing by the fire in the evenings was great. There was plenty of free firewood provided. Even in this "small" cabin, you get a bath and a half, so no jockeying for bathroom space, and we didn't have any problem with hot water or water pressure in the shower.

I really enjoy staying in Townsend--it's a quick trip into the park, and the Cades Cove loop road (very busy in the fall) is easy to get to. If you want to go into Pigeon Forge (we always stop at the Old Mill restaurant and store) and/or Gatlinburg, they're only about half an hour away. You can also get into the two towns via the park road, although that way takes a bit longer. There's a decent-sized grocery store in town, plus plenty of cute shops and some decent restaurants. If you're into tubing (we haven't tried it ourselves), there are several places in town catering to that as well.

Overall, I'd recommend Top of Townsend--we'll definitely continue to go there!

Room Tip: Take your own pillows! (But I pretty much do that anytime I travel.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed with Top of Townsend Oct. 10-14, 2012. The first thing that hit us upon entering was the stale smell of old cigarette smoke. (You could see it in the yellowing walls as well.) The carpets were dirty and stained as well as the sofa and chairs in the living room. We were afraid to hang our clothing in the closets in case they absorbed the smell. We bought (and used) an ENTIRE bottle of Febreeze fabric refresher on the carpets, bedding and couches. We also bought 2 Febreeze plug-in air fresheners and a Febreeze candle that we left burning the entire time we were inside the cabin. We did have clean sheets and linens, but the comforters were very old and torn in places. The pillows were flat as pancakes (thankfully we brought ours from home). The hot tub jets didn't work properly (some didn't work at all) and the light in the hot tub didn't work. Getting the cover back on the hot tub was difficult, as you also had to put a 2X4 board underneath it to hold it up (it took 2 people). Then, to top it all off, the so-called "Christian" owners called us thieves for not telling them that we brought 2 teenage girls with us, thinking that we were trying not to pay an extra $20 rather than thinking maybe we just didn't think about it?!?! I will not support someone who openly claims to be a Christian yet deals with others the way the owner dealt with me.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

we had such a great weekend my grandaughter loved the loaft and hot tub our 1st stay at top of towsend was in 2005 at teg tt and this time at back in the hallow ed and virginia are so special right down to the gift of the jar of jelly to die for we will be back soon

THE HUTSONS

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Two of us went with another couple to stay in the Smokey Mountains for three nights before going to Knoxville to attend a UT football game. I found these cabins through an internet search and was impressed by the photographs. We were NOT disappointed. Our cabin was perfect. It was secluded in the woods (beautiful fall colors everywhere) with a fireplace (wood already provided) and a hot tub! There was a wrap around porch, a metal roof ( wonderful when it rained) and it was stocked with everything we needed for two nights of cooking. It was clean and cozy! The owners, Ed (we never met him) and Virginia ( very pleasant, helpful person) have about 10 cabins they rent. Each have different names. Ours was called BACK in the HOLLOW. Go there, relax and enjoy!

Room Tip: Go on line and look at the pictures of the different cabins they rent! www.topoftownsend.com I be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011 via mobile

A scary drive to paradise. We stayed in Bears Paw and it delivers! Very clean, it basically passed the white sock test and the hottub was a much enjoyed ammenity. Great value for so much space, a clean home and private escape. Townsend was one surprise after another...all good!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Top of Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top of Townsend

Address: 460 Boat Gunnel Road, Townsend, TN 37882
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Townsend
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top of Townsend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.