We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated & Ill-Maintained” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Top of Townsend

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Top of Townsend
Save Saved
You added Top of Townsend to your Saves list
460 Boat Gunnel Road, Townsend, TN 37882   |  
Hotel amenities
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outdated & Ill-Maintained”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed with Top of Townsend Oct. 10-14, 2012. The first thing that hit us upon entering was the stale smell of old cigarette smoke. (You could see it in the yellowing walls as well.) The carpets were dirty and stained as well as the sofa and chairs in the living room. We were afraid to hang our clothing in the closets in case they absorbed the smell. We bought (and used) an ENTIRE bottle of Febreeze fabric refresher on the carpets, bedding and couches. We also bought 2 Febreeze plug-in air fresheners and a Febreeze candle that we left burning the entire time we were inside the cabin. We did have clean sheets and linens, but the comforters were very old and torn in places. The pillows were flat as pancakes (thankfully we brought ours from home). The hot tub jets didn't work properly (some didn't work at all) and the light in the hot tub didn't work. Getting the cover back on the hot tub was difficult, as you also had to put a 2X4 board underneath it to hold it up (it took 2 people). Then, to top it all off, the so-called "Christian" owners called us thieves for not telling them that we brought 2 teenage girls with us, thinking that we were trying not to pay an extra $20 rather than thinking maybe we just didn't think about it?!?! I will not support someone who openly claims to be a Christian yet deals with others the way the owner dealt with me.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

we had such a great weekend my grandaughter loved the loaft and hot tub our 1st stay at top of towsend was in 2005 at teg tt and this time at back in the hallow ed and virginia are so special right down to the gift of the jar of jelly to die for we will be back soon

THE HUTSONS

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Two of us went with another couple to stay in the Smokey Mountains for three nights before going to Knoxville to attend a UT football game. I found these cabins through an internet search and was impressed by the photographs. We were NOT disappointed. Our cabin was perfect. It was secluded in the woods (beautiful fall colors everywhere) with a fireplace (wood already provided) and a hot tub! There was a wrap around porch, a metal roof ( wonderful when it rained) and it was stocked with everything we needed for two nights of cooking. It was clean and cozy! The owners, Ed (we never met him) and Virginia ( very pleasant, helpful person) have about 10 cabins they rent. Each have different names. Ours was called BACK in the HOLLOW. Go there, relax and enjoy!

Room Tip: Go on line and look at the pictures of the different cabins they rent! www.topoftownsend.com I be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011 via mobile

A scary drive to paradise. We stayed in Bears Paw and it delivers! Very clean, it basically passed the white sock test and the hottub was a much enjoyed ammenity. Great value for so much space, a clean home and private escape. Townsend was one surprise after another...all good!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Top of Townsend has several cabins on a steep gravel road above their home. We stayed at "Way Up Yonder" for two nights. The wooded setting was pleasant, and the views were great, just as described on the website. The gravel drive was steep, and it's hard to imagine how folks would make it up there following a snowfall. The owners/host couple provide a nice gift of raspberry jam, and the cabin was clean and neat. The hot tub comfortably accomodates four adults and was a nice treat.

There isn't a washer/dryer in the cabin (although it's available in a different building), and there's no wi-fi. The TV is small - very small. The bedrooms have a bed but no furniture - the night tables and dressers are plywood pieces that fold up to the wall or out for storage. The kitchen cabinets and interior walls (above the first level, made of logs) are unfinished plywood. Although the cabin accomodates 8-10 people, plan to stagger showers as the hot water is exhausted after about twenty minutes.

The accomodation works well if your group doesn't have much interest in TV, can leave the internet acess behind, and doesn't mind taking the dirty laundry home.

There was a pleasant fireplace and plenty of wood was provided. The owners were responsive to minor inconveniences we contacted them about. The isolation (at the end of a dead-end road between Townsend and Cades Cove) and cozy fireplace were the parts we especially enjoyed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madisonville Ky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

The main reason for our trip was to attend the Ky.- Tenn. fotball game a couple of days after thanksgiving. When we first decided to go to the Knoxville area, I started to look for a place to stay. I began looking at cabins, which were numerous and most were fairly expensive. I remembered that we had stayed at Top of Townsend in 2000 and that we had enjoyed ourselves. When I looked at their website I was amazed that they had not changed much, and even more suprised that the price was still the same as in 2000. We stayed in Bear's paw the price was $120 per night. This price was very reasonable for a 2 bedroom cabin. The cabin was very clean and well kept . They even had the fire place set up with wood and ready to light. Firewood had been stacked outside the cabin for us to use. If you really want a quiet Smoky Mountain experience away from the hustle and bustle of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, but still close to the park you cannnot find a better place. I highly reccommend the Top of Townsend , and plan to stay there again.

  • Liked — Quiet mountainside location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

This was our second stay at Top of Townsend. We loved our first visit but this trip was just as good, if not better. The cabin (Rachel's Roost again) was just as wonderful as we remembered. Being there is the fall was a new experience, and the location was so peaceful you could actually hear the leaves falling off the trees--and nothing else.

We were hoping for cool enough weather for a fire but it was quite warm-low 80's during the day and mid to high 50's in the evenings. Maybe next visit we'll get to try out the fireplace.

Again, the cabin was spotless, spacious, and comfortable. The view from the deck was gorgeous. We hiked several miles each day, came back for dinner, and after a glass of wine, a soak in the hot tub, and sitting in the rocking chairs sleep was very quick to follow.

Anyone looking for a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and well located cabin need not look any further. This is a great place for families or couples and a location I would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Top of Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top of Townsend

Address: 460 Boat Gunnel Road, Townsend, TN 37882
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Specialty lodging in Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top of Townsend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.