We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More food than we could eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Real Mexican Restaurant

Monte Real Mexican Restaurant
8123 E Lamar Alexander Pkwy, Townsend, TN 37882
(865) 448-9114
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 34 Restaurants in Townsend
Restaurant details
New Derry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“More food than we could eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The host at our motel in Townsend recommended this restaurant to my husband and me and we were not disappointed. It was within walking distance of our motel. The chips and salsa were plentiful and we got a refill even without asking. I had the shrimp soft tacos with a side of black beans and they were delicious. My husband ordered the shrimp/chicken quesadilla with shredded lettuce salad, rice and refried beans. Oh my goodness! It arrived on a plate the size of a turkey platter! We could have shared this meal and still had leftovers. The quesadilla was 2 huge tortillas (12 inches) cut into 4 sections.filled with chicken, shrimp, onions, peppers and cheese. We took 2 sections back to the motel and I had them for breakfast the next day. He could not finish the sides either. The décor is not Mexican since this place must have been a rustic ribs or family restaurant. Perhaps the owners will decorate it Mexican once they get established. The service was very good, however, it always perplexes me when Asian servers work in Mexican restaurants!
This is a good choice for dinner in a small town with little variety in food choices and practically all locally owned restaurants. After ribs and family fare this was a nice change.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    29
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elon College, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I didn't look this up ahead of time, but this was a really good Mexican restaurant. We had gone to the cavern nearby and needed a place for lunch and this was perfect. The salsa was good, which is always the mark of a good Mexican restaurant. Would definitely go again if I am in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Muy, Muy, Bueno!!! (Very, Very!,Good!!!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My family member ordered "The Big Man" Combo, which includes an Enchilada, a Burrito, a Chile Relleno, a Taco, Rice & Beans!!!! His Plate of food was actually a PLATTER of food & cost only $11.50!!!!! He ate every last bite!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy Salsa and food! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We biked to this place from the KOA campground and Mexican food is my favorite. The salsa was really good and all three of us enjoyed our meal. I had shredded beef enchiladas with green sauce, the serving size was larger than I could eat so my husband had to finish mine off and he thought it was very good too. Place seemed very clean and staff was friendly, good about keeping our chips and drinks filled up. Wasn't very busy when we were there in the early evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food in TN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I'm a Texas gal who has been in TN for almost a year now and am pretty picky about my Mexican food. I was thrilled to see a Mexican food place open in Townsend, but didn't have my hopes too high. I like my salsa spicier than the typical restaurant and asked if the cook made a hotter one than what was served with the chips. He brought me a red tomatillo sauce that was perfect for me! Now I go there all the time and take the leftover salsa home with me, so what a deal! I appreciate the budget-conscious lunch specials and fast and friendly service, too.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Real Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Monte Real Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Real Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.