We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable 2 bedroom cabin” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dancing Bear Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dancing Bear Cabins to your Saves list
Dancing Bear Cabins
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   137 Apple Valley Way, Townsend, TN 37882   |  
Hotel amenities
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable 2 bedroom cabin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a 2 bedroom cabin with our son and daugher-in-law and twin babies. The set up for the 2 bedroom should be for 1 couple. The second bedroom is up a dangerous staircase. The railing is too wide to hold on and there should be another railing on the wall. I had to go up and put 2 feet on each step. It is really hard to mange if you have to go to the bathroom which is downstair. There is not enough comfortable seating for 4 people. There is a small couch for 2 and 1 other comfortable chair. The cabin does have a full size kitchen the downstair bedroom is large with a jacuzzi. Both bedrooms beds were comforable but soft for our tastes. The upstair bedroom was an A frame and my husband hit his head a few times.
We used the fireplace the first night but the smoke went up to the upstair bedroom. It may because it was pouring rain the whole time we were there. The continental breakfast was great and always had a quiche and nut breads and muffins. The staff was very helpful especially at breadfast. The staff had put in 2 play and pacs for the babies. I think we would stay in the lodge next time or a 1 bedroom cabin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DancingBearOwner, Owner at Dancing Bear Cabins, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Charlotte T,

Thank you for your feedback on Dancing Bear Lodge's two bedroom cabins. You are correct they are best suited for two adults with children and not great for four adults. However, we are renovating a couple of them this winter by adding a bathroom upstairs and expanding the downstairs bathroom. We hope to have two of these by May.

In the meantime, we suggest couples traveling together stay in their own lodge rooms or one bedroom cabins. The lodge provides ample space to gather with your friends and family.

Best,

Matt Alexander
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    26
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
67
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The nearby Relais & Chateau Blackberry Farm gets all the press and kudos but we find Dancing Bear Lodge just a short drive away from "The Farm" to be the real Smoky Mountains "sleeper." First of all, the beds are dreamy comfy. Second, the restaurant at the Lodge is very good and a fraction of what you will spend at The Farm. We picked Dancing Bear Lodge because is is pet friendly with a nominal fee for our Maltese Sazerac. And we would return again. The only complaints we have are 1) breakfast is all starch and the quiches both had pork or sausage (not great for me who does not eat meat), 2) The TVs and reception are not good. 3) If you have ambulatory issues the showers may not work for you. It is quite the step up and over to get in and out of the shower if you have short legs (like me) or difficulty with movement. Ask about this when you reserve your room. 4) The $5/hr bike rental is a waste of money since the trails are not kept up. Instead, take a hike or drive. 5) The young lady at the front desk could be more welcoming instead of somber all business. Try handing out apples in the rooms since the inn is located in the "Apple Valley."

Room Tip: Book a cottage and enjoy a wood burning fireplace and in room jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DancingBearOwner, Owner at Dancing Bear Cabins, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
MightyMelanie,

Thank you for your post. We appreciate the feedback and are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Dancing Bear Lodge. Our cable provider switched our area to digital without a lot of warning. We have since rewired all our rooms and cabins and the TV reception is excellent now. After a few storms we had this winter, our trails were in bad shape. I just rode them last week and they are clear and as fun as ever.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best,
Matt Alexander
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a very nice lodge at the edge of the Smoky Mountains. Our room was great. Very spacious and tastefully decorated. It is not the typical hotel room. The restaurant was excellent. It is definitely the best restaurant in Townsend. The only disadvantage is the noise from the street. But because of the restaurant I give it a full 5 star. The breakfast is good but not outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great restaurant. Great ambiance. Subpar wait staff. They have a fabulous capability in the quality of food and menu, but they just do not have the attention to detail that the lodge should have. Overall, not just the restaurant. I even had to beg for a reservation as a hotel/lodge guest. AYKM!!! But thanks to 1 "bigger picture" front desk staff member, who called the manager, I was able to dine there with my son. They had a group in and were "all about the group". They need to realize that while the group makes them lots of money, the transient guest is equally as important. All in all, well worth the price, which is higher than more good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My family really enjoyed our recent stay at the Dancing Bear Lodge. The continental breakfast was very good and the restaurant was a great choice for dinner. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the 2-bedroom cabin we stayed in was perfect for our family of four. Only minor complaint was that the bathroom was quite small and had no counter space or shelf over the sink on which to keep toiletries. Housekeeping took good care of us, but we found it odd that they ran the dishwasher for one dirty glass we left in the sink while they encourage guests to go "green" with the towels! We enjoyed the hot tub on the deck after busy days exploring the area. Might have been nice to have breakfast available before 8:30. When you are hitting the road to explore that is a bit of a late start.

We loved its convenience to the Great Smokey Mountain National Park's Townsend entrance. After a day in the Pigeon Forge area we were grateful to be on the "quiet side" of the Smokies.

Room Tip: All the two bedroom cabins appear to be the same and were very nice. Tight on bathrooom space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I adored the dinner. Perfect from start to finish: excellent food. The dining room is so cozy and intimate. Our table was sandwiched between a two-story river stone fireplace and an amazing view of the Smokey Mountains. Our server was very helpful and friendly. The chocolate cake was to die for. Then we had smores on the patio just for fun.

If you are a Blackberry fan: the food will not disappoint... the rooms may (though our room cost several hundred to a thousand dollars less). It is still a very nice inn for the price in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have stayed at Blackberry Farm and were told that Dancing Bear "is just as good, but half the price." Not true. The staff are adequate, but not overly friendly nor accommodating(other than Rhonda). The two-bedroom cabin we rented was not very clean, and it was so dark that we really didn't want to spend much time there. The furnishings are barely adequate for a place billed as a "sister" to Blackberry--not inviting at all. We checked in the first night that fires were allowed int he fireplaces, but we had no matches or starter logs. The bathroom is tiny and uncomfortable. The kitchen isn't well-stocked.

The breakfast is very good. The dinner was superb. We didn't know about the s'mores so didn't get to take advantage of that--again due to the barely adequate staff.

The Dancing Bear has tremendous potential and I do hope they will rise to the occasion. We were unpleasantly surprised with the accommodations, but still had a wonderful two days together. Probably will not return unless someone I know well tells me changes have been made.

Room Tip: Don't get a 2-bedroom cabin. I can't comment on the other cabins nor on the lodge rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DancingBearOwner, Owner at Dancing Bear Cabins, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Tootski,

Thank you for your review of Dancing Bear Lodge. Your comments are very helpful as we continually strive to improve our service and offerings. Rhonda is certainly the caliber team member we are proud of. My apologies for the poor service you received from others and I hope you believe not our normal level of service.

We do hope you will return. I suggest one of our one bedroom cabins or LeConte (our VIP suite) for your next visit. Our two bedroom cabins are scheduled for renovations this winter.

Best,

Matt Alexander
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dancing Bear Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dancing Bear Cabins

Address: 137 Apple Valley Way, Townsend, TN 37882
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dancing Bear Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dancing Bear Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dancing Bear Hotel Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dancing Bear Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.