We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, just okay food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Back Porch Restaurant

Back Porch Restaurant
7018 E Lamar Alexander Pkwy, Townsend, TN 37882
865-448-6333
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 34 Restaurants in Townsend
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good service, just okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I stopped here for dinner Sunday night of Memorial Day weekend. We sat on the side porch and enjoyed the breeze from the overhead fans. It wasn't very crowded, but there also wasn't much wait staff working. Our waitress was very pleasant, kept our glasses filled and checked on us often. We split the chef's salad and my husband had the almond crusted trout and I had the Cajun pasta. The shrimp in the Cajun pasta were horrible but the chicken and Andouille sausage were good. My husband's trout was bland and didn't taste very fresh. It was an okay meal, not the homemade cooked meal we expected. Since there are other restaurants in Townsend that we like better, I doubt we will give the Back Porch Restaurant another try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    36
    29
    26
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not $40 good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Being local, we've heard good and bad about this place. We decided to give it a try for the catfish. The "special" is all-you-can-eat for $15.99 which includes two sides, bread and a hushpuppie.

The catfish is touted as "Louisiana" -- tasted like basic Tennessee farm-raised. Maybe if it was obtained locally, it wouldn't cost so much. The hushpuppies were greasy, the Cajun rice dressing smelled like something had gone rancid, the steamed broccoli & cheese tasted more like boiled from frozen with Cheez Whiz poured over it. The cole slaw is good, a vinegar-based dish, no mayonnaise.

We ordered the beignets for dessert. They, too, were greasy and somewhat tough. Admittedly, the only beignets I have had were at Cafe Du' Monde in New Orleans.

We enjoyed the catfish and the baked potato was good. It just wasn't $40 good (and that was with the local discount.)

Our server, Rhonda, was awesome. Right on time, checking back regularly, offering a replacement when the cajun rice dressing was put aside.

This restaurant recently changed hands, going from country cooking to "fresh seafood." The decor is a mishmash of the old country-style with some splashes of Cajun tossed in. The music playing was a mixture of bluegrass and zydeco. One has not lived without hearing "Smoke on the Water" done zydeco. :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmoshpere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Had a nice supper here while sitting on the enclosed porch. The catfish was very good, as were all of the other meals we ordered. Could order off the lunch menu as well as the dinner menu, so prices were very reasonable.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Only thing worse than the service was the food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Cheap, frozen and ill prepared food. Took 45 minutes to get the worst meal I have had in a long time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“New Owners - Must Try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great selection on the new menu. New owners took over March 1, 2014 and by May they have their act together! Grouper sandwich was da bomb!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Porch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Back Porch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Porch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.