We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & welcoming atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Valley Kitchen

Apple Valley Kitchen
7138 East Lamar Alexander Parkway, Townsend, TN 37882
+1 865-448-9878
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 34 Restaurants in Townsend
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: We are a family business serving up the best fried apple pies in the Smokies. Our fudge is homemade on-site using only the finest ingredients. Shop the Country Store for jams, jellies and gourmet coffees. Smoky MountainT-shirts, Minnatonka moccasins,Garden flags & much more. Shop Country Elegance for Fine jewelry, Handbags, Beautiful Quilts,Home & Lodge Decor. OH! And Bear Decor. We have some local made items and strive to carry Made in America as much as possible. If your Visiting The Great Smoky Mountains we are a must stop shop.
USA
1 review
“Great food & welcoming atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stopped in at Apple Valley today. Had the fried chicken sandwich and homemade chips. Sandwich was large, chicken was crispy, and the chips were wonderful. Loved the log cabin country decor. Be sure to check out the Apple Valley store next door. Fun place to spend a few minutes and the prices in the store seemed quite reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    39
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop and eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in to grab a bite of lunch after a nice drive through Cades Cove. I had the special for the day, which was meat loaf with mashed potatoes, green beans, and a roll. I usually don't get meat loaf because its hard to duplicate grandmas recipe. However, this was absolutely delicious! The mashed potatoes were home made, and the green beans were seasoned just right. This will be on my list of places to eat on my next trip to Townsend, TN.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Frozen food? and dirty bathrooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

You'd do well to by-pass this place. The food seems to be packaged and frozen, the staff distracted and like everyone has said the bathrooms are horrible! You sure can't take your 4 year old in it and they have to wait til the Visitor Center several miles away. With the choices around the area, this would be a good one to bypass.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good food and lots of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We enjoyed a delicious lunch after a great horseback ride through the mountains. The service was excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Mississippi
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You must try the apple dumpling!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The plate lunch here is good and the portions are about average. The menu is somewhat limited. The apple dumplings and fried apple pie is great!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apple Valley Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Apple Valley Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Valley Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.