We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty waterfall!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cades Cove Riding Stables

Cades Cove Riding Stables
8224 State Hwy 73, PO Box 147, Townsend, TN 37882
865-448-6286
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 15 Activities in Townsend
Type: Equestrian Trails, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Original Cades Cove Riding Stables, we offer a Guided 110ft Tall Waterfall Tour by Horseback, along with Carriage Rides and a Horse Drawn Hayride that includes a marshmallow roast. Originally started by my father, Hugh Myers, @ 1965 in Cades Cove where we operated for 43 years, until I moved the stables to Townsend in 2009. I invite you to visit us at our new location in Townsend, a place rich in natural beauty and history that you'll easily experience as you ride the trail to the waterfall.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Pretty waterfall!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had a young wrangler who had more fun flirting than anything else! Pretty ride, though. Got to see a neat waterfall. Long drive from Sevierville to the stables but on the way to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Friendly guide, beautiful scenery, great horses, interesting trail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I'm so glad we decided to go trail riding here. I haven't been on a horse in four years and I was reminded of wonderful riding is again. Our guide, Josh, was extremely personable and helpful. The trail was interesting with different terrains and beautiful scenery. We crossed in front of a breath-taking waterfall. My horse, Olive, was well behaved. The ride was inexpensive and well worth it. Altogether, riding here was the highlight of my Tennessee trip!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a lot of "first timers" and our guide really eased our minds. The horses were great and the trail wasn't just flat. We climbed several shady hills with sightings of turkey, waterfalls and a cemetery. Our tour guide was very social and kept us entertained. He even took a picture of our group on the horses from his cell phone and texted to us. Great time and I recommend this establishment when in the Smokies.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tell City, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love this riding stables: See a bear everytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Rode a horse and went thru a stream, saw a bear. Future daughter in law had never rode a horse before, but loved it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The owner was mean”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We started with mike great guide and talked so highly of the owner and how he looked up to I think his name was Rick but half way Rick came out of the bushes and fired mike cause he waited on my mom and sister at the falls so don't stop you will get a blurred picture the the ride turned horrible Rick took over and never talked I will never come back to this stable again

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cades Cove Riding Stables also viewed

 

Been to Cades Cove Riding Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cades Cove Riding Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.