We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Tremont Road in Great Smoky Mountains National Park

Upper Tremont Road in Great Smoky Mountains National Park
Tremont Road, Townsend, TN
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Attractions in Townsend
Type: Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Townsend, Tennessee
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you are in the Smokies you should drive thru Cades Cove. But after you leave the cove and are headed back out,drive to the end of Tremont to experience a wonderful hike. The road is on the left a few hundred yards from the wye to Townsend. If you have a low riding car do not attempt the gravel section you will bottom out. But if not head slowly out the gravel road until it runs out. At the end you will find a bridge - cross it and turn to the left-hike as long or far as you wish. A slight constant climb but worth the trouble. A must do.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Privacy and water views on this secluded road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just returned from a winter trip into the Smoky Mountains. We happened upon this old logging road, properly marked as Upper Treemont Road. We saw very few cars during the meandering trip. The creek/river was clear and easy to step down to, as there are several pulloffs, just big enough for one or two cars. It's a perfect little trip for nature lovers, photographers, those seeking to get away from the crowds. This is NOT a drive to fly through. You will be travelling about 15 -20 mph so make sure you give yourself about an hour or two to get out and enjoy the views.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a Must See.. It is truly a beautiful drive thru the GSM's along a beautiful creek..Once at the end of the road, be sure to hike the Middle Prong trail for a truly beautiful experience and enjoy the views..

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Before that, I only heard about this famous park. I had a chance to go there during my study leisure time. Although I didn't see black bears, I enjoyed seeing the beautiful scenery and animals there. I also got a baby lobster, and I gave it back to the nature. We had a Pizza Hut picnic along the river.
Visiting date was in July 2009.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I told the owner of the hotel I'm at that I came to see waterfalls. She told me to check this area. It is very pretty. I expected more waterfalls by what she said (and perhaps there are more when there has been more rain), but as it was, I only saw one. The drive is along a dirt road that winds back a long way. The river is visible almost the entire time. It has fantastic pools and rapids to look at. I think it took an hour for me to drive into and back out of the area in all, perhaps longer. I came in the fall, so there weren't many flowers or anything, but the fall colors were visible. And I imagine in warmer seasons, you can see lovely flora. Maybe even some wildlife, too!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Tremont Road in Great Smoky Mountains National Park also viewed

 

Been to Upper Tremont Road in Great Smoky Mountains National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Tremont Road in Great Smoky Mountains National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.