We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss this restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lil' Cuban Cafe - CLOSED

Lil' Cuban Cafe
117 Painted Trillium Way, Trillium Cove Shopping Village, Townsend, TN 37882-3807
865-738-3183
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Cuban, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are located in the Trillium Cove Shopping Village right next door to Steve Norris's Art Studio. The cafe has three indoor dining areas,the Cafe Lobby, the Main Dining Room and the upstairs Party/Dining area. As an added bonus we also have the Cafe Patio outdoors where you can relax, enjoy your meal and take in the beautiful mountain views while listening to some of our favorite Cuban music.OPEN WEDNESDAY THRU SATURDAY 11AM TO 8PM SUNDAYS NOON TO 4PMCLOSED MONDAYS AND TUESDAYS
Wears Valley, TN
1 review
“Do not miss this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great food, friendly, family atmiosphere, super service, love the Cuban sandwich. But most of all
CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN! ! !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Julie, thank you so much for allowing us to serve you and specially for taking the time to write us your review; we really appreciate it. We are very happy that you enjoyed your food, and would like to thank you for noticing the results of the efforts that we put forth in providing our customers with a clean and healthy atmosphere in which they can enjoy their food as you did!. We are very proud of the 99% score that we have received from the health department in our last 2 inspections. Thank you for noticing! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    36
    6
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Lil Cuban Cafe is a hidden jewel of the Smokies.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I are locals and we love everything about the Lil Cuban Cafe. The first time we tried this cafe the owner asked if we had ever eaten Cuban food. When we said no he pulled up a chair a explained the whole menu. We have returned many times and have never been disappointed. When you go be sure to ask if the cook, the owner's wife, has tried anything new. She is always experimenting with new creation, and they are always great. Give them a try. You will be glad you did.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments and your recommendations; it is the reason that we are here....because of all the support that we have been receiving from our valued customers! On another note, we are in the process of finalizing our web site which of course will include an on-line menu. There are new menu items being added...so it is great advice to check and see what is new! When the weather starts to turn normally triggers our creative juices...so look for these great dishes that are coming soon! Look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“#1 rated restaurant lives up to it's billing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My brother and I love pork and cuban style is hard to beat. Eddie (the owner) took my brother and I upstairs where we could watch TV and proceeded to tell us his history in the business. He made several trips up and down the stairs to check on us and recommend different items from the menu. My brother had never tried cuban cooling and was blown away by the cuban sandwich. I had a meal with pork, rice (two kinds thanks to Eddie) and plaintains.Can't wait to go back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dave, just wanted to drop you a short note and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with all of us; we really appreciate it! We are of course very happy to hear that both you and your brother enjoyed your dining experience with us and we very much look forward to seiing you guys again real soon! Thank you for having given us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Flavorful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The short story is this: Stop at this restaurant!!! Now for the details, we sat outside at a table with umbrella, lovely location, view the mountains as you eat. The man who waited on us was very warm and friendly, making you feel so welcome. Now for the best...the food...wow. We had Cuban sandwhiches, piled high with tender meat, wonderful bread, flavors that just danced on your taste buds, as promised not spicy, but very flavorful. Also had an empenada which too was wonderful and did have dessert the sweetie....slices of bread somehow toasted with a sweet sauce and strawberries. That does not begin to explain it, you just have to get it. So nice to have a place that is unique and simply wonderful eating experience. This is not your chain restaurant...go here for something truly special.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with all of us; we certainly appreciate it! We are indeed very fortunate to have been given the opportunity to operate our restaurant from such a wonderful and beautiful place as is Trillium Cove in Townsend, TN. You are absolutely right about the views also, they are truly breathtaking. On behalf of all of us at the cafe, thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are very aware of how many dining choices our visitors have, so it goes without saying that we were thrilled to have you choose us for what turned out to be a "wonderful" experience for both your family and us! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Lil' Cuban was mentioned repeatedly on the Great Smoky Mountains Facebook page as "the best restaurant in the Smokies". Our family visited while we were on vacation the week of September 10th and I have to say we, unanimously, have never been so excited over food! Everyone LOVED it, even my 80 year old mom who is pretty picky sometimes. After dinner, we didn't think the food could get any better until Eddie brought us dessert...Lil' Cuban Sweety (I think that's what it was called). Again, we were just over the moon with what great food it was. Eddie and the crew were great hosts and wanted us to have "the Cuban experience.." .and I'm sure you can see they succeeded. We'll be back as a family next fall. I'm going back in February with girlfriends and a meal at Lil' Cuban has been my only request... See you soon Eddie! :o) -Lori Alejandro (for Alain, Lee & Lori, & mom...)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie P, Guest Relations Manager at Lil' Cuban Cafe, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Lori, I can truly say that you have an awesome family! We are so happy you guys decided to spend time with us, and we want you to know that it was an absolute pleasure meeting your family. It goes without saying that we look forward to your next visit in February! By the way, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review; it really means a lot to us! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lil' Cuban Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lil' Cuban Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.