We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Plenty of It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Cafe

Black Bear Cafe
7621 East Lamar Alexander Parkway, Townsend, TN 37882
(865) 448-8887
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Townsend
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Tazewell, Virginia
1 review
“Great Food and Plenty of It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Come hungry and order the fish sandwich! It is HUGE! The best fish sandwich ever! Great burgers too! The Apple Carmel Walnut Pie is too die for!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    63
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, Tennessee
1 review
“Best in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I had out-of-town visitors here for a couple days. Both times that we ate out they insisted on eating at Black Bear. It just can't be beat!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cute little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate there on a Saturday evening. My husband had the hamburger steak with peppers and onions and I had a reuben. The food was great, the place is small but the decor was really cute. We would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Small place , awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We just came from the thataloochee (sp?) caverns, and this restaurant was suggested to us by them. We just finished eating here and I couldn't wait to post a review . This is a hole in the wall place, small inside but tastes were big!!! There were six of us , we had the fried fish sandwich x2, trout dinner, and Reuben sandwich x2, the ribeye sandwich, okra, &potato soup. Everything was great, iced tea was fresh and the homemade bread was delicious! Our waitress was Sarah- very attentive. Good service , great prices. Would def go there again when in area .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great to have them back open”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were happy to attend the opening night for this season. Great chopped steaks, salads and tea. Staff was as friendly as ever and the lemon chess was great. We will be back again and again and again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.