We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Cafe

Black Bear Cafe
7621 East Lamar Alexander Parkway, Townsend, TN 37882
(865) 448-8887
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Townsend
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

cute place. My husband had the chicken and dumplings that were on special and really enjoyed them. I had the salad with fried chicken strips, it was okay. My salad tasted watery like from thin dressing or wet lettuce or both, not sure why. And the lettuce tasted kinda old.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    63
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
June lake. CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really good chow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was my second time at the Black Bear. The first time with 4 people, the last with 2. Nobody was disappointed. The food was wonderful, and the service was prompt. The bread was homemade. Delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simple, but delicious dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife, daughter, and I stopped at the Black Bear Cafe at the end of a day of hiking and sightseeing at Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We had a great dinner.

The menu was simple--sandwiches and a few basic entrees. I had the blackened chicken and my wife had a dinner salad with chicken. Though it was nothing fancy, both of us really enjoyed our dinner. Our nearly two-year old daughter had her first ever grilled cheese sandwich from the children’s menu--it was a hit.

They had a whiteboard listing about ten homemade desserts and the servers advised us that they weren’t all actually available at the moment. It turned out that the “Hostess Cupcake Cake” was available. It was like one of those cream-filled Hostess chocolate cupcakes--except it was prepared as a layer cake. We shared a piece and it was terrific.

Overall, the portions were generous, the food was good, and the service was friendly. The dining area wasn’t large, but establishments in Townsend, aptly advertised as “The Peaceful Side of the Smokies”, don’t have the traffic of Gatlinburg. If you’re in Townsend, the Black Bear Cafe is worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south dakota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Small place but good quick food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Mostly a fast food type of menu but what they do have is tasty. I had the chicken tenders and they were incredibly delicious. Not too much breading and not reformed meat product. My husband had the club and we took half of it home along with some of the chicken. Didn't have dessert but there was a nice variety of choices.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Black bear cafe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful friendly cafe. Awesome food great value! Have eaten there several times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.