We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country cooking still exists.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Cafe

Black Bear Cafe
7621 East Lamar Alexander Parkway, Townsend, TN 37882
+1 865-448-8887
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Country cooking still exists.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

that great lil hole in wall you're looking for is right here. Stopped for lunch before touring the great smokey mountains and couldn't be more pleased with the service and portions that we received, which was just perfect with the quality. A must visit in my opinion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    71
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Casual, relaxing atmosphere with home cooked food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Trip Advisor helped us with this one! After a day of hiking we stopped in Townsend for dinner. The Wednesday dinner special was spaghetti with home made meat sauce, garlic bread, and salad. Four people in our party got the special and loved it. I ordered the fried trout with a baked potato and salad. It was delicious. .. lightly breaded and fresh. The desserts are also homemade and delicious. The caramel apple pie was excellent as was the pecan pie. The restaurant was clean, the prices were reasonable, and the people were friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home cooked meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Don't miss out on this café. Great food and very friendly people. They have great daily specials and the food is great. A great restaurant for families. There is something for everyone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to get back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The food is great and the service is excellent! Can't wait to get back the end of this month and see the Little Red -headed,Little Purple Haired Serving Wench!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stopped at Black Bear Café on a tour for lunch. The service was great, the food was good and the restaurant was very clean. The group was served quickly, drinks were refilled efficiently, and the staff was friendly. I would eat there again if I was in the area!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.