We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of the golf course and mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel valley country club restaurant - CLOSED

Laurel valley country club restaurant
702 country club Drive, Townsend, TN
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A casual dining experience offering Lunch, Dinner, and Weekend Specials, as well as Full Bar Service. Enjoy the best views of the Great Smoky Mountain National Park from the Dining Room, Swimming Pool, or Covered Porches.
Social Circle, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of the golf course and mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Besides having great views, the food was delicious. I had a hamburger (it does not do it justice to call it that) and my friend has some wonderful baked chicken. They offer a good wine selection as well. The staff was very helpful with the menu and the manager bent over backwards to accomodate us.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great setting in the mountains for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Often overlooked on Townsend since it is off the beaten path. But definitely worth the time to find it. They have had some issues in the recent past, but under new management the service and food have improved. Great value for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“well hidden but worth the look”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We saw a little sign that advertises Laurel Valley country club and restaurant so we decided to eat lunch there. We were a little worried that out hiking apparel and 2 children might get us tossed out but fortune favors the brave so we gave it a go. Boy are we glad we did, casual atmosphere even though we ate on deck overlooking the golf course with a picturesque view of the mountains. The service was top notch, best sandwich (turkey) I have eaten in decades, and wonderful views. What else could you want. The menu is small but everything we had from it was outstanding. Other restaurants could learn a thing or two here, only sell what you do well. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, TN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We live in the area and have been here several times. It used to be a great place to eat, but in the past few years it has gone downhill. We decided to try it again because the view is so spectacular. But to our disappointment it is still bad. Poor service, it took us 25 minutes to get a drink. 45 Minutes to get our salad, and over an hour to get our food. I ordered the flank steak and it was terrible. They offered to replace it, but I did not want to wait another 45 minutes. My husband switched with me and gave me his shrimp fettuccine Alfredo and it was not much better. The manager was apologetic but this place needs some money put into it. Then to top it all off, our bill was all messed up. If you want a drink and a view its ok, but skip it for dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great food and place to take friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had delicious meal here. Several friends and I reserved a table. Service was great, nice choice of bar drinks. Ate the salmon prepared excellently. Made you feel welcomed. Even though at a club they are open to public. If visiting the Smokies and staying in the Townsend area you should I've the place a try, you will not be disappointed. AND the view of the mountains is spectacular .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laurel valley country club restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel valley country club restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.