We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and pet friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townsend Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Townsend Gateway Inn to your Saves list
Townsend Gateway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8270 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Synchronous Fireflies
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
South Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very clean and pet friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Townsend Gateway Inn based on Trip Advisor. The winter special is a great price and our dog could stay for a reasonable fee. The room was warm and a goodie basket was filled each day with snacks for us to enjoy while we photographed Cades Cove in the Smoky Mountains. The motel is located at the end of town closest to the park and across the highway from the river. You can hear the river flowing when you are outside. It was cold when we were there, but in warmer weather, guests can enjoy the rocking chairs on the porch. The beds were very comfortable and no noise from the highway or other guests. The best thing to me is how clean they keep the rooms and bathrooms! We will return again this winter to the Townsend Gateway Inn. Thank you for three wonderful nights!

Room Tip: The pet rooms have 2 double beds. If you want a queen room, don't bring your pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    60
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
83
144
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Townsend Gateway Inn on 1/18/2013 because we were in the area on business. We stayed in cabin #1. I can tell you that it was clean. However, there was a smell in the cabin that would not go away! I don't know if it was a cabin that allowed pets, but, it really caused me some horrible allergy problems. I think we were supposed to have cabin #3,but, a tree had fallen on it during the snow. The people were very nice and they brought us a basket of "goodies". I think this review would have been different had we been able to stay in a room/cabin that did not cater to animals. It is a cozy cabin...meaning..very small.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin/room that does not allow pets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visit the Cades Cove area several times a year and always stay here. When we arrived this time, it was pouring down rain, snow, and sleet. Rather than have to get out and check in, Pete just waived us on to our room and brought us a key. The heater was on and our room nicely warmed up. We checked in the next day when the weather was better.

Colleen stopped by to make sure everything was OK and that we were warm enough. (If the sleet and snow didn't tip you off, let me tell you... it was cold!) With tile floors and walls, the bathroom was a little cool, but still OK. None the less, Colleen immediately went and got us another heater for the bathroom.

We would have stayed longer, but our favorite room was booked. We knew this would become a problem as more people find out about this place. It will become harder and harder to even get a room here.

As long as we can get a room, we won't stay anywhere else in the area. These are some seriously nice folks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here during a weekend getaway. It was January, so there only appeared to be a couple more guest rooms rented and the place was pretty quiet. There was nobody in the office when we got there to check in at about 7:30, but they arrived within a few minutes of us calling from the phone outside the office. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. We were presented a little "goodie" basket with coffee, hot chocolate, and snacks when we got to the room - a very nice touch. This is the third family owned hotel we've stayed at in the last couple of years. All 3 were similar. The Gateway Inn had a smaller sink/vanity/dressing area than the other 2, but the room was a little larger. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Bluegrass
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Townsend Gateway Inn over the New Year's weekend and had a very nice stay. You can tell the owners definitely take great pride in their business, from the updated bathroom fixtures, to the spotless floors, to the wonderful snack basket. Delightful place to stay. Next time we return, we will definitely book our room here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We rented a cabin for a 3 night stay in October and got an excellent deal. The location was very quiet and peaceful. The furnishings in the cabin were dated, but it was spotlessly clean and everything was in working order. The kitchenette was small, but had been somewhat updated, so suited our purposes nicely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The room was very welcoming after a long drive through the mountains. Beautiful large room with nice hardwood floors and comfy bed. The rocking chairs out front of our room are great for relaxing after a long day or watching the sunrise. Pete is a great host, delivering a nice welcome basket and recommending the best places to eat. Our only regret is not spending more time at the inn. So much time sightseeing we didn't get to fully appreciate this great place. (Cade's Cove is beautiful this time of year) Clean, quiet, and cozy with the homey feel of an old Mom and Pop highway inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Townsend Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend Gateway Inn

Address: 8270 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
#1 Family Hotel in Townsend
#1 Green Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Townsend Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Gateway Inn offers travelers a comfortable, enjoyable and restful stay, providing luxurious accommodations in a unique environmentally friendly family atmosphere. Beautifully appointed rooms and a host of amenities add to the charm of the Townsend Gateway Inn making it one of Townsend Tennessee's most desired travel destinations and a natural choice for our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Townsend Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Gateway Hotel Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townsend Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.