We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins from hell - NOT motorcycle friendly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Old Smoky Mountain Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Smoky Mountain Cabins
238 Web Road, Townsend, TN 37882   |  
Hotel amenities
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cabins from hell - NOT motorcycle friendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We rented Mallard's Rest and our friends rented Angler's Retreat. We were assured both these cabins were motorcycle friendly and they were NOT. Cabins were old, furniture was old and worn. Pots and pans were old and were something we would not cook our food in. Trash containers were filled to the brim when we arrived, though there was a little room the next morning after animals had dragged trash out and spread it all over the yard. We forfeited our money and moved to the LaQuinta Hotel in Pigeon
Forge the next day rather than ruin our vacation. No wonder they have a no refund policy! Cabins are so far from the beaten path that going out to eat wasn't an option. We had no food with us, and in order to reach the cabins before dark, we decided to go out later for provisions. Bad weather prevented us from going out and we were afraid we wouldn't be able to find the cabins in the dark, so we lived on protein bars for the evening. I would never recommend wasting your money on these cabins unless you are a hunter with very low standards.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seymour
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

I stayed in The Creekside Cabin on Webb Rd. in Townsend , Tn along with some friends. The cabin was adorable and would have been a wonderful getaway except for the fact that the cabin was very dirty. The loveseat had a very big hole in it and was extremely dirty. The placemats on the kitchen table had food all over them. The coffee pot had old coffee grounds and water in it. The floor had so much dirt, food etc. on it that it had to be swept twice. The bathroom was filthy, clearly not cleaned between renters. The microwave, stove, refrigerator, and blender were also dirty. I actually went to the store and bought $20.00 worth of cleaning supplies and cleaned the cabin before my other friends arrived. We saw 2 roach bugs. The decorations on the wall were very cute but were covered with dust and spider webs. The TV remote was taped together. Most of the light bulbs were burned out. The outlet in the bathroom did not work. What could have been a wonderful, well-needed getaway turned out to be not so wonderful because of the uncleanliness of the cabin. I have stayed in many cabins in Townsend and this is my first bad experience.The owners were friendly and nice but definitely need to clean up their act. I unfortunately would not recommend this cabin to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2006

This was our second stay with Smoky Mountain Cabins; my husband and I were actually married there several years ago and they have since made many upgrades for the wedding program and facilities they provide.

However, the cabin we stayed in the second time was actually dirty when we got there. We soon found out why: the vaccuum was broken (although, that didn't necessarily explain the dirty bathrooms with hair and foul things stuck to the floor and inside of the showers. The rental company refused to replace the vaccuum, or even let us borrow a vaccuum for the week.

We did receive a winter booking discount (and stayed in the summer), so our total was $1300+ for one week in a 3 bedroom, 3 bath, with loft and game room cabin.

I would reccomend going with a different rental company when visiting the Smoky Mountains near and around Gatlinburg, Tennessee. There are so many to choose from that settling for less than wonderful shouldn't have to be an option!

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2005

Worn carpet, non-functional dryer, dated furnishings and interior...you get the picture. Hard to tell from the web or the brochure. Would definitely opt for a Gatlinburg cabin if I had it to do again. Townsend in general is a place where it just ain't happening (as opposed to P. Forge and G-burg). Of course, some folks like it that way.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2004

My family has rented cabins from Old Smoky Mt Cabins for the past 19 yrs. We have never had any complaints. The owners are very friendly and eager to please. We always enjoy our trips to Townsend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Smoky Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Smoky Mountain Cabins

Address: 238 Web Road, Townsend, TN 37882
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Specialty lodging in Townsend
Also Known As:
Old Smoky Mountain Cabins Hotel Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Smoky Mountain Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Smoky Mountain Cabins to your Saves list