We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great but acceptable,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Talley Ho Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talley Ho Inn
Save
You added Talley Ho Inn to your Saves list
8314 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Not great but acceptable,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Decent place to stay. One item that needed attention is that there were a considerable amount of bird droppings on the balcony. Otherwise large rooms, decent bedding and decent view from some of the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    35
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
41
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I have lost count how many times I have stayed there. 15-20 The grounds are beautiful. The hotel is so nice and quiet. Love it. The air conditioners need a little work. Most do not have a high fan which would help so much to cool the rooms off quicker and to air out the rooms. Everything was clean as usual and the staff is THE BEST! The restaurant next door has good food and gives you a discount if you stay at Talley Ho. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Double check to make sure you get a room with a good air conditioner. I like the rooms in the back b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our FIAT group of about 70 people with 50 cars driving The Dragon, Devil's Triangle, Moonshiner 28, etc stayed here and were very pleased. The accommodations were simple, but the service, staff and environment were top notch! The hotel is close to the TN 73 entrance to Smoky Mountain National Park, there are gas stations an restaurants nearby and one restaurant is walkable as they share a driveway. It's an easy drive to the great roads like Tail of The Dragon in the area and not too far from Pigeon Forge if you want the touristy stuff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The room itself was average. Had updated/modern furnishings and amenities. Beds are firm. The room was comfortable, and was very clean. However, had a strong musty odor. Our room was a double, we had a patio, and it is relaxing/peaceful outdoors. The internet was slow. All that being said, we would stay again.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at Tally Ho over the weekend. Sat we went out and came back to find termites all in the kitchen. We reported the problem to the front desk and left again. When we returned they were even worse. Sunday morning none of us could believe how many there were. We reported the problem again and did not even get so much as an apology but instead were told that they didn't actually own the cottage, just managed it. Well, they need to manage the bug problem because it was truly disgusting. Just unreal.

Room Tip: Do not stay in cottage #2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We picked this hotel after driving by 3 others with higher Trip Advisor ratings. The others had similar advertised prices but looked much less appealing. The staff here were all very friendly and helpful. The upper floor King bed room was VERY spacious and had a private balcony. The restaurant next door gives a 10% discount to Tally Ho key holders.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mountain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The decor at Talley Ho Inn was plain and neutral but adequate and it was very clean. Microwave, coffeemaker and mini fridge in the room. Free wi-fi. Mattress was very firm. It was very quiet but not many people were there. We could hear the water being used in another room in the morning and I ran out of hot water during my shower, so water heater must be a shared one. We got up early and drove through Cades Cove the next morning and saw deer and turkey and even watched a fox for about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talley Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talley Ho Inn

Address: 8314 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Talley Ho Inn is the oldest establishment among Townsend hotels, motels, cabins and resorts. We offer a broad selection of accommodations to fit any need and budget. For couples' getaways we recommend romantic Premier and Deluxe rooms. Family retreats will enjoy spacious cottages and picnic areas. Sole travelers will find comfort and value in our Original Eight rooms. Our exhibition grounds is a perfect place for car shows and large expositions. Adjoined Carriage House Restaurant is ideal for any occasion as it offers buffet, casual, formal dining and banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talley Ho Hotel Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talley Ho Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.