We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage #2 - ick!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Talley Ho Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talley Ho Inn
Save Saved
You added Talley Ho Inn to your Saves list
8314 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Townsend
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cottage #2 - ick!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at Tally Ho over the weekend. Sat we went out and came back to find termites all in the kitchen. We reported the problem to the front desk and left again. When we returned they were even worse. Sunday morning none of us could believe how many there were. We reported the problem again and did not even get so much as an apology but instead were told that they didn't actually own the cottage, just managed it. Well, they need to manage the bug problem because it was truly disgusting. Just unreal.

Room Tip: Do not stay in cottage #2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    34
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
31
34
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We picked this hotel after driving by 3 others with higher Trip Advisor ratings. The others had similar advertised prices but looked much less appealing. The staff here were all very friendly and helpful. The upper floor King bed room was VERY spacious and had a private balcony. The restaurant next door gives a 10% discount to Tally Ho key holders.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mountain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The decor at Talley Ho Inn was plain and neutral but adequate and it was very clean. Microwave, coffeemaker and mini fridge in the room. Free wi-fi. Mattress was very firm. It was very quiet but not many people were there. We could hear the water being used in another room in the morning and I ran out of hot water during my shower, so water heater must be a shared one. We got up early and drove through Cades Cove the next morning and saw deer and turkey and even watched a fox for about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The rooms are good size clean and our beds slept comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful. It was nice
to be in peaceful place not crowded by noisy traffic. I was satisfied by the cost and like supporting independent
business ,plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Talley Ho has a couple of houses and we have used Cottage 2 three times now with our friends, most recently last weekend. It's 3 bdr, 3 bath with kitchen, patio, deck, washer/dryer, and everything. There aren't a lot of food choices late in the season in Townsend so we bring food and cook in after being out in the mountains hiking and photo shooting. We have stayed in the rooms in the past and they are good, clean, comfortable. The owners are great and we always enjoy our time here. We had a little bit of a wasp problem but the guys came and sprayed all over the place, also leaving us a couple of fly swatters. No problem! Trees out front were gorgeous when we left.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We are two female photographers needing a place to stay 'fairly close' to Cades Cove for a few days of shooting. I just came back from my third stay at this great place and wanted to share the experience with others. For two women traveling together the room set up is perfect...two queen beds, in addition to the sink/mirror shower, toilet in the enclosed bathroom there is a second sink, large mirror and big counter space outside of the bathroom. There is also a nice patio just outside of the back door of the room....we leave before daybreak and come back after dark but for others that would be a nice additional space in good weather. Also offered is a mini frig. and coffee maker. The prices are most reasonable for the space, cleanliness and location. Front desk/office staff are very friendly and helpful with directions, suggestions etc. If you are heading to Cades Cove or other areas within the Great Smoky Mountain National Park in the Townsend area....do check this place out. They do get booked quickly during 'peak' Fall season, Spring time....well ok...they are a popular place to stay about any time of the year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegedale, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Talley Ho Inn is a pleasant and relaxing place to stay. Our family has been staying here several times per year during the last 20 years. The units are clean, beds are comfortable, and the staff is very pleasant to deal with. There are two small houses that accommodate small groups. Our family has utilized these houses for Christmas get-togethers. The swimming pool is always clean and there is a tennis court available. The Talley Ho is a real family place with open space for children to play. We recommend this facility to all who may be looking for a "family friendly" place to stay while visiting the Smokie Mountains. It is near to Cades Cove.

Room Tip: The back units are quietest and have patios on which to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talley Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talley Ho Inn

Address: 8314 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Talley Ho Inn is the oldest establishment among Townsend hotels, motels, cabins and resorts. We offer a broad selection of accommodations to fit any need and budget. For couples' getaways we recommend romantic Premier and Deluxe rooms. Family retreats will enjoy spacious cottages and picnic areas. Sole travelers will find comfort and value in our Original Eight rooms. Our exhibition grounds is a perfect place for car shows and large expositions. Adjoined Carriage House Restaurant is ideal for any occasion as it offers buffet, casual, formal dining and banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talley Ho Hotel Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talley Ho Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.