We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talley Ho Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talley Ho Inn
Save
You added Talley Ho Inn to your Saves list
8314 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Thomson, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Loved this place, Gave use a choice of rooms and a look see before deciding. Love the Patio/ Balconey on room. Great view of Mountains. Well keep grounds and room was very clean and large we had.
Great place to eat on site.
Staff very friendly, offered me rags to wipe down my bike.
Will return for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    39
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
35
45
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Quaint, comfortable rooms. Retains feel of original Smokies lodge it was, but has been completely renovated. Sparkling clean and MUCH more charming than a chain hotel! Lovely pool and view of mountains too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I spent two days in the Smoky Mountain National Park primarily in Cade's Cove. When we drove through Gatlinburg I was shocked at how crowded and commercial it had become since the last time I was there years ago. We wanted a nice quiet simple place to spend one night and found it in Townsend at the TaLley Ho Inn. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small with a small shower but was all we needed for that night and best of all it was away from the crowds.

Room Tip: W asked for the a east expensive room, there are larger rooms that may have larger baths if that'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I returned for a 3-day stay at Talley Ho. It was very nice, certainly comfortable, very clean, and the people were friendly and helpful.

Best feature hardly mentioned in reviews? The showers. I stayed in one of 'the original' rooms (#132). Just as my previous room (#124) the water is old school: strong volume and instantly hot. This has got to be the best shower in the Smokies. I'd forgotten how nice it was to have a high-volume shower. You've got to experience it.

Also nice that return visitors receive a discount (if you call for reservations; not via web).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

There is considerable variation from room to room. Ours were up the hill had excellent views from a balcony. It was probably more recently built was roomy and in very good condition. Inspect first. Do not expect luxury and you should be well satisfied. HJ
B.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

By far the best accomodations In Townsend. Will be going there In Dec.It Is the closest hotel to road leading to Cades Cove. Had deer and sighted a bear from back door. Walt to restaurants from hotel. They have their own restaurant on site but when I go It has been closed. Great rates and super clean rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very Good experience staying in this Inn. Room was spacious, end room with windows on two sides, very bright, Very clean, the staff was scrubbing the outside handrails as we checked in. The grounds were lovely, well-kept, neat and trim. The pool was clean with lots of available lounge chairs. The location was convenient for access to the Park without all the Gatlinburg traffic. The staff was courteous and helpful, refrigerator, tv, microwave and coffee maker in room and in working condition. Not your maxxed out resort destination - but not marketed as this either. A little old school in a good kind of way. Overall a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
0.1 mi away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#1 of 10 in Townsend
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#5 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
#1 of 86 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 94 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 stars 1,332 reviews
1.4 mi away
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talley Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talley Ho Inn

Address: 8314 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Townsend
#5 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Talley Ho Inn is the oldest establishment among Townsend hotels, motels, cabins and resorts. We offer a broad selection of accommodations to fit any need and budget. For couples' getaways we recommend romantic Premier and Deluxe rooms. Family retreats will enjoy spacious cottages and picnic areas. Sole travelers will find comfort and value in our Original Eight rooms. Our exhibition grounds is a perfect place for car shows and large expositions. Adjoined Carriage House Restaurant is ideal for any occasion as it offers buffet, casual, formal dining and banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talley Ho Hotel Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talley Ho Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.