We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have been there 12 times!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talley Ho Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talley Ho Inn
Save Saved
You added Talley Ho Inn to your Saves list
8314 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Townsend
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We have been there 12 times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stubbled across the Talley Ho Inn about 3 years ago and it is our favorite weekend get away now. We have stayed there 12 times and it is the cleanest, quietest, nicest place on earth. The landscape is beautiful. The pool is clean. Prices are great! You can be in Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge in just 20 minutes and avoided sleeping in those loud cities. You are a mile from the Smokies but you sure feel like you are sleeping in them. The balconies are HUGE and a great place to wake up and listen to the birds with your morning coffee. They will even lend the kids tennis rackets and balls to play tennis. On a friday night you can sit outside and listen to the concert at the Heritage next down the street. The city is just that quiet. We triend a few other hotels in Townsend... but none compare to The Talley Ho Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    34
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
31
34
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Built in 1953, the Tally Ho Inn is still in the hands of the original owners family. The outside of the inn has a quaint Bavairian feel. The grounds are spotless, the pool is pristine, and the location is ideal as it sits on the main highway.

Our room was the deluxe king and it had plenty of room, an appealing decor, and a private layout. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room was spotless and clean smelling. The covered balcony was huge and offered a lovely view of the mountains surrounding Townsend as well as the open meadow belonging to the hotel.

The staff was very friendly. I intended to book our room using the Internet but when I called for a clarification before hitting 'send', they made sure we received an end room with a private balcony at the end of the property.

We visit the Smokies quite often, staying in a cabin on some trips, a hotel on others. We will always use this hotel for future stays in Townsend. It was a very relaxing trip.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a very clean and very well priced hotel. The rooms have plenty of room. They are liitle dated, but for the price, who cares. I will definently be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

we stayed there during the fourth,you talk about quiet,it is really the quiet side of the smokies.we really liked the room it looked new,im very ticky about being clean,the bed sleeped great,you got plenty of room in the bathroom too.the balcony was very private also,we will be back,BEST!!! place Ive ever stayed.

Room Tip: the futher up toward the mountains you go the quieter it gets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have been travelling to the Smoky Mountains since I was a very small child. Staying at the Talley Ho Inn is a family tradition. Never have I had a more pleasurable stay than this past week. The rooms seemed updated and exceptionally clean! Great updates! This motel sits in the most perfect area of Townsend. The grounds are neat and clean. The staff was more than accommodating. The kids loved the pool! It is a quiet place and was very relaxing. We will return to this place everytime we visit Townsend!

Room Tip: We stayed in section D and this was great. We did discuss asking for section C next time we come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I just stayed there for two nights and felt real good about the stay. The room was pretty large with along and we has a nice view out on the back deck. The place was not crowded and they were willing to give us a good competitive price. The river rafting there is very fun. Not crazy rapids but just fun ones with a tube. Plenty of places around there to get rafts. Also a very nice bike path that runs for three to four miles. People there are very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I was staying at a cabin that had no internet service but I needed to work last Thurs and Friday. I saw the billboard for the Tally Ho Inn which stated they have free Wi-Fi so I called to see if they would let me come up there to work. The woman who answered the phone graciously spoke to the owner who agreed to let me work there. They have a huge comfortable conference room, free coffee and no interuptions. The gentlemen at the front desks on those days were very helpful. The hotel was very clean and up to date and I would recommend it to anyone! Great customer service!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talley Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talley Ho Inn

Address: 8314 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Talley Ho Inn is the oldest establishment among Townsend hotels, motels, cabins and resorts. We offer a broad selection of accommodations to fit any need and budget. For couples' getaways we recommend romantic Premier and Deluxe rooms. Family retreats will enjoy spacious cottages and picnic areas. Sole travelers will find comfort and value in our Original Eight rooms. Our exhibition grounds is a perfect place for car shows and large expositions. Adjoined Carriage House Restaurant is ideal for any occasion as it offers buffet, casual, formal dining and banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talley Ho Hotel Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talley Ho Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.