We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean and peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talley Ho Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talley Ho Inn
Save
You added Talley Ho Inn to your Saves list
8314 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice clean and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I just stayed there for two nights and felt real good about the stay. The room was pretty large with along and we has a nice view out on the back deck. The place was not crowded and they were willing to give us a good competitive price. The river rafting there is very fun. Not crazy rapids but just fun ones with a tube. Plenty of places around there to get rafts. Also a very nice bike path that runs for three to four miles. People there are very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    36
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
42
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I was staying at a cabin that had no internet service but I needed to work last Thurs and Friday. I saw the billboard for the Tally Ho Inn which stated they have free Wi-Fi so I called to see if they would let me come up there to work. The woman who answered the phone graciously spoke to the owner who agreed to let me work there. They have a huge comfortable conference room, free coffee and no interuptions. The gentlemen at the front desks on those days were very helpful. The hotel was very clean and up to date and I would recommend it to anyone! Great customer service!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Super - Great - Perfect

Our annual family reunion group stayed at the Talley Ho Inn this past week - June 9 - 16. We occupied eight rooms (including several rooms in each of the three different catagories of rooms) and also had cottage #2 rented for our entire stay. The types of rooms are explained in detail on their web sight so you can see which fits your needs. Cottage #2 has a huge front deck looking out over the mountains in the distance and is a perfect gathering area for a group.

Housekeeping serviced the rooms daily and everything is kept in a spotless manner. The green spaces (two HUGE AREAS) and the landscaping are very well presented. And having the Carriage House Restaurant, which serves three meals daily, only a few steps away was sooooooooo convenient.

Mary Grace, Danny and Mike H were the contact personnel I spoke with most often in making the room and cottage reservations and each one was very helpful, pleasant and professional. And after everyone's arrival and during our week long stay, again, every question from our group to anyone in the office was answered with a smile.

Whether you are needing one room or cottage or a group booking ..........you have found the right place with Talley Ho Inn. Well done, all of you, and thank you for everything you did for helping make this family reunion one of the best ever.

Room Tip: No stairs !!! Rooms on the second floor (top floor) are arrived at via two slightly sloped ramps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalleyHoInn, Manager at Talley Ho Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Hello and thank you so very much for your wonderful review! Nothing makes us happier than seeing our guests so pleased with our property! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, SC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We were satisfied with our stay. The bed was very comfortable and the king bed had 4 provided pillows of good quality. The tv was 32 inch HDTV and reception was excellent. The bathroom was quite dated but still functioned well. If we had a complaint, the room was dark. We did enjoy the stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Townsend is so much more peaceful than Pigeon Forge or Gatlinburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed at TalleyHo again. May be our third stay over the past couple of years. Clean. Nice folks. Their WiFi was down. Meant we couldn't connect with 'work' providing us with an excuse not to sign in. That is both "good news / bad news". We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony enjoying early morning birds chirping rather loudly!

Close to the Carriage House Restaurant. Across the street from BBQ place that was excellent.

Would be nice if the hotel would upgrade their little round toilets to oblong modern toilets, though. I know it is a rather strange thing to write. Would make a 'very good' review into an 'excellent' review!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I have never posted a review, but felt that Tally Ho was outstanding. We usually stay in the old part of the hotel. Those rooms are very clean and quaint. This year there were seven in our group and we stayed in the main house on the property. It had been remodeled and it was beautiful and very clean. Can't wait for Old-Timer's weekend next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Great option if the tackiness of Pigeon Forge and Gaitlinburg are not your thing. (Only one traffic light in Townsend says it all.) The drive to the Park everyday is beautiful along Little River Rd. Talley Ho is nicely located enabling you to walk to a few restaurants and an ice cream shop as well. In the front there is a great wide biking path/sidewalk well of the road. Even if you are in the front building like we were, traffic noise is minimal. Porch chairs are provided at the front, but who wants to look at the highway? So we took our chairs to our back patio. It's a nice set up having a front and back door. We would have enjoyed to be poolside, but it wasn't yet open May 4th, but by carrying our indoor table outside with our chairs we had a lovely set up on the patio and enjoyed the mountain view.

Pros: excellent location, very clean and spacious.

Cons: no blow dryer (It's been years since I encountered this. I wish I had know and I would have brought my own so I hope this will help someone else.)
No hangers in the room either which I needed.

Room Tip: Front building is fine and you have a porch,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talley Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talley Ho Inn

Address: 8314 State Hwy 73, Townsend, TN 37882
Location: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Talley Ho Inn is the oldest establishment among Townsend hotels, motels, cabins and resorts. We offer a broad selection of accommodations to fit any need and budget. For couples' getaways we recommend romantic Premier and Deluxe rooms. Family retreats will enjoy spacious cottages and picnic areas. Sole travelers will find comfort and value in our Original Eight rooms. Our exhibition grounds is a perfect place for car shows and large expositions. Adjoined Carriage House Restaurant is ideal for any occasion as it offers buffet, casual, formal dining and banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Talley Ho Hotel Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talley Ho Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.