We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History buffs will have blast here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Hall Museum

Charles Hall Museum
229 Cherohala Skyway, Tellico Plains, TN 37385
423-253-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“History buffs will have blast here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Charles Hall has amassed an amazing collection of pictures, tools, arms, telephones and much else. Take some time and visit both museums on this property. If Mr. Hall is around, ask him some questions. He is very knowledgeable and quite friendly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“awesome, must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stopped here for some maps and general info, While there we went through the 2 museums there on the property, must see and they are FREE!! One of the museums has everything about telephones from the very beginning to old sewing machines and the man who runs the place is a goldmine of information on everything there, was very interesting if you have a little extra time stop in and see this! The visitor center is new and very clean restrooms also!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickens, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Have I reached Museum quality??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This Museum has a very interesting variety of items from antique to vintage. I was surprised at how many items Mr. Hall was able to get into the two buildings. We even got to meet Mr. Hall in person!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“The oldest and best collections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Charles has some of the oldest guns, telephones artifacts, TV's, Victrola, toys and if that's not enough, take a peak at all those great historical photos of this one horse town. Now has two museums!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“Charles Hall Museum & Gift Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I have stopped at the Charles Hall Museum and gift shop on multiple occasions while driving through the Skyway. The museum has a unique selection of items: guns, currency, a vehicle near 100 years old, and the largest collection of antique telephones I have ever seen. The owner (Charles Hall) is usually there and enjoys talking to individuals that are visiting.
The gift shop has a wide variety of quality goods: ranging for tourist items (such as t-shirts, locally written books about the area’s history, and small souvenirs) to kid’s toys to jewelry. There is truly something for everyone, and the gift shop proceeds go towards the museum so buying something is like making a donation. We always seem to find something interesting that we want to buy!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Hall Museum also viewed

 

Been to Charles Hall Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Hall Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.