We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs, run away, awwww bed bugs!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 - Sweetwater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Super 8 - Sweetwater to your Saves list
Super 8 - Sweetwater
1421 Murray's Chapel Rd, Sweetwater, TN 37874   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sweetwater
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bed bugs, run away, awwww bed bugs!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011 via mobile

Me and my was on a family vacation and was tired of driving, so we stopped here for the night( should of just kept driving). First off when we got to the room we took advantage of the pool so when I got back I wanted to wash the chlorine out of my clothes so I turned the sink on and bam brown muddy water that ran bout 5 min till it cleared. The buffet was great. But when went to retire after a long day i layed down with my year and a half son and i looked down and there it was, a bed bug crawling on my son and i killed bout 7 before i went to front desk and after fighting for awhile we got a new room and no reimbursement at all after moving all our stuff at 1am, all the manger could say is she wouldn't do anything so if u like bugs eating you in ur sleep by all means stay here but if ur normal and think being told bed bugs are a risk you take when you stay at hotel stay away.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    15
    22
    20
See reviews for
31
21
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

My husband and I booked a one night stay at the Magnuson Hotel with the intention of maybe staying two nights. (To be honest I was excited about the opportunity of a nights sleep in a king size bed, having a queen size bed at home).Well a one night stay about did us in. We hurt so bad the next morning there was no way we were going to stay the second night. It had to be the worst mattress we have ever slept on. Luckily we went to the Lost Sea and were able to walk out most of the pain and stiffness. The breakfast buffet was okay but it was extremey hot in the restaraunt so we had to eat farely fast. The nightly buffet did not look to appetizing so we passed. We thought overall it was a little overpriced. Based on reviews we expected so much more.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

My family and I stayed at the Magnuson on a recent trip across the Cherohala Skyway. The hotel options in and around the Skyway were very limited, and I have to admit that I didn't have high expectations for an inn in the mountains. The Magnuson exceeded our expectations and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was excellent and the rooms were comfortable. We could tell they hadn't been dusted thoroughly, but otherwise we have no complaints about the rooms. The pool is in an indoor atrium and a family allowed their children to play in and around the pool unsupervised beginning at 7:00 in the morning. This was bothersome, but I blame the parents more than I would the hotel. Overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sautee Nacoochee, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

This is our third time to this hotel. The staff, the service, and the atmosphere is always good! You get free breakfast and dinner buffets with your room. Rooms are clean, comfortable and affordable. Plenty to do in the area including Sweetwater Valley Farm - where you can buy fresh cheese, the Lost Sea, flea markets and don't miss the Sock Shop! We love it here!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

My wife and I only stayed here one night, but had no big issues with this hotel. Everything seem cleaned and in working order in our room. The few employees we saw were super friendly. It may have been the time of year but it was very empty and just felt kind of strange such a big place that empty. We did get free dinner and breakfast although I could have done without the dinner (somewhat bland... but hey its free). I will say this, if The Magnuson updated some things it would be awesome... especially the atrium!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picayune, Mississippi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

This summer was awesome because I took a group of 18-30 year old for a retreat. I can't enough about this place. It has everything you need for anything. The service was great and. The food was amazing. You get free breakfast and dinner, and the food was very filling. Usually when you get free food the food taste cheap, but this food was off the chain. The pool area was great for those who like to swim and the place was very peaceful. The conference room is the perfect size for group meeting or conferences. The room were clean and perfect for relaxation. This place is just five minutes away from entertainment and grocery stores. It is right off the interstate, so it is quick to go places. The huge flea market is right around the corner and I mean right around the corner. This is definitely a place we would stay again. We came to relax and that is exactly the atmosphere you feel here. Applause goes to staff and owner. You ace to stay here and relax.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perryville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Stopped here on the way to Atlanta so we could go to the Lost Sea and drive through the mountains the next day. I was impressed with this place. The room was $60 with a discount and that included breakfast. You get a free dinner too but we got there to late. It has some age on it but the rooms were clean and they have an indoor pool. We didnt get to swim but it looked nice. The breakfast was good they had all the basics and it was hot. Eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, cereal, muffins ect... We have three kids so it would have been $30 to eat at resurant so it was well worth it. The folks there were friendly and helpful. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 - Sweetwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - Sweetwater

Address: 1421 Murray's Chapel Rd, Sweetwater, TN 37874
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sweetwater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Sweetwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 - Sweetwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Magnuson Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 - Sweetwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.