We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buchanan Resort

Buchanan Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Springville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buchanan Resort
785 Buchanan Resort Rd, Springville, TN 38256   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Springville
Garland, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you want to have a family vacation, and enjoy the sights, this is the place to go. Back to nature and a great staff to take care of any needs you might have. Went in 2012, will be back in April 2013. Fish On, they say.....

Room Tip: We had a cabin by the swimming Pool, we could see the pool and the lake at the same time. It came w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Melbourne, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Went there for a family reunion with 40+ people. It was nice in the sense that it could a) hold that many people, and b) had different variety of rooms to stay at at varying prices. We picked the 3 bedroom waterfront lodge. The rest of the families stayed at other lodges. They were pretty much all old and run down. It looks like the amenities hadn't been replaced in years, like the coffee pot, microwave, television, oven, and fridge. The lodge we stayed in had a 24" tube television with only a coax cable hookup, so we couldn't even hook the Wii or Blu-ray player to it. The fridge was missing shelves and drawers. The stove created condensation down the front while it was on. The wi-fi is horrible. I was lucky to get to signal bars since the wi-fi is in the office and the lodge is pretty far from it. For the price of the cabin, you'd think they could afford to upgrade the amenities with better working ones. There's no phones in the cabins. There's spiders "EVERYWHERE", especially at night outside the doors.

I do no recommend the waterfront lodge since it is adjoined with two other waterfront lodges and when someone is walking across the room, it sounds like they are jumping. So when the OWNER let her SON stay in the adjoining one by us, we could hear them very clearly until 3:00 am with their blaring radio and jumping around and screaming. We called the resort at 2:30 am and the answering service did not have an after hours number to call. I sent my husband down to the office to see if they had anyone just in case, and luckily they posted an after hours number. So, my husband called and got a hold of someone who said they'd take care of it. Well, taking care of it was just turning the radio off. The screaming and jumping around kept going. We were very close to calling the cops. Even the staff told us we should've called the cops!

The one nice thing about the stay here was that the staff seemed very friendly! Never saw the owner, but by the time we wanted to, we were checking out that morning. The pool area was very nice and we enjoyed the beach volleyball pit. There's not much to do around this resort other than boating or swimming. To go horseback riding, we had to drive an hour each way. It's not that close to the mountains, so that's a drive too.

Room Tip: Do not choose the waterfront lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Springville hotels

Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here on a long weekend for a family reunion on the lake and had a blast! Overall, we were very happy with the resort. Even though some of the buildings are old, the grounds were well-kept, the staff was terrifically friendly, and the location is beautiful. You have your choice of hotel rooms, cabins and camping here and the resort offers plenty to do including free property-wide wi-fi and pontoon boat rentals at the marina. The resort is also very well laid out, so even though it was busy it didn't feel crowded.

We stayed in one of the three-bedroom lakefront suites, and our suite was clean, incredibly spacious (we had 10 people and it didn't feel crowded) and had a great view. The suite included a fully-equipped kitchen with dishwasher, which was very handy, and a huge deck overlooking the lake. Unfortunately, the suite was also very worn and the wallpaper was starting to peel in the bathrooms. (The building used to be a restaurant and it was divided up into suites several years ago, apparently using the cheapest materials available.) The beds were not particularly comfortable and noise from the nearby boat ramp carried through the walls, so forget sleeping in. There were some bugs - mostly mosquitoes and other flying things, but no roaches or anything like that. What do you expect on a lake in the southeast?

The rest of our party stayed in the two-bedroom cabins next to the pool, and they appeared to have been recently renovated and were very nice. The pool appeared new as well, and was very clean. We also rented out the conference room and it was very clean, in good order, and features a huge outdoor patio.

I can't say enough nice things about the staff. They gladly permitted us a late check-out, and also safeguarded some of our valuables while we went boating. We did rent a pontoon and unfortunately the motor overheated on our first one. They quickly brought us a replacement - again, friendly staff.

If you stay here, be sure to bring your own food and supplies. There is a restaurant on the resort, which I was told is pretty good, but aside from a couple of small convenience stores (read: liquor stores with a few other basics), the nearest grocery store is a Dollar General 3 miles away and the nearest town (Paris) is about 15 miles.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed three nights in the waterfront 3 bedroom suite and the rest of our family stayed in two separate standard cottages. Although the resort is friendly and the view of the lake is awesome, the pool was extremely clean, the rooms were pretty much unacceptable by my standards. We all travel frequently. We checked in the waterfront suite and it not only smelled moldy, but dead bugs were all over the carpet and linoleum. The bathrooms were nasty. The floors and carpets were filthy, we couldn't let our grandchildren even crawl or attempt to go barefoot in any of the places we rented. For the pricey rates, I would never stay here again. We notified the front desk of the mess in our suite and they did send someone to clean it immediately and we were told they just "bombed" the place AFTER IT WAS CLEANED. The outside and the decks need a good power washing. I would never stay here again. It was way too expensive. We could have gone on an awesome vacation and had extremely clean and fresh rooms for what we paid here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

If you are looking for a fun family-oriented resort/campground, try Buchanan’s Resort in Springville, Tennessee. Our trip consisted of approximately 40 individuals arriving on motorcycles during Labor Day Weekend. Upon arrival, the office staff provided us with a warm, southern hospitality greeting that made us feel VERY welcome. The women in the office were especially helpful providing us with directions and ideas for attractions that might interest our group. The motel rooms and cabins were a little dated but extremely clean. The Resort overlooks tranquil Kentucky Lake. The view of the Lake from the motel was especially calming. The Resort also offers boat rentals at reasonable prices. The pool, as I understand, is a new amenity to the Resort which was extremely relaxing and refreshing. The actual RV campground is somewhat partitioned from the cabins and motel. The Resort offers a very large covered shelter house located between the motel and RV Campground. As entertainment for the evening, the Resort had scheduled a D.J. who played a variety of music for all ages. The shelter house was full to capacity with people dancing and enjoying the evening. The Resort also has an on-site café offering a variety of food choices at reasonable prices. The grounds were very well kept and ample parking provided. Buchanan’s Resort is a well-hidden treasure to seek for a fun family/group getaway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buchanan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchanan Resort

Address: 785 Buchanan Resort Rd, Springville, TN 38256
Location: United States > Tennessee > Springville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Springville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buchanan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Buchanan Resort to your Saves list