We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best catfish in Nashville area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catfish House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Catfish House
3424 Tom Austin Hwy, Springfield, TN 37172-3940
615-382-1382
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 50 restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best catfish in Nashville area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great catfish with a good variety of seafood, chicken and steaks!
No dislikes here. Great service too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    12
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Everything's good in this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We've eaten here several times and have found it to be a gem! It has the best catfish around! The staff is very friendly with a southern accent and make you feel like you're eating at home only with service. While you're deciding from a diversified menu, a dish of fried okra is brought out for you to munch on. A waitress is there to help with any questions and takes your order and brings out your drinks promptly. While your order is being prepared for you, she brings another couple of dishes for you to whet your appetite for the main course. This time, it's a bowl of white beans and your choice of coleslaw made with vinegar or mayo. These are served family style. A plate of hushpuppies are also served. We can never get past the catfish to order anything else, but I'm sure that the other offerings on the menu are just as great. You have a choice of catfish filets or whole catfish minus the head. My husband loves the crunch of the tails. I don't get it, but I order the cajun seasoned filets and they are delicious! They are never greasy either. Crispy and mild! There are several sides that you may order with your meat dish, but we always end up with the baked potato and it is always big and plump and piping hot when it arrives. Everything is sooooo good that we end up taking the leftovers home and they are eaten the following day. Yum! The entire place feels like you are at an entirely different venue....like an intown vacation. If you want to be absolutely certain of a great meal at a great price with super people, I recommend this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Drove 40 miles and it was worth it! Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Prior to eating at this Catfish House location, we always ate at it's sister location in Smyrna, TN. However, it closed in summer of 2011 and has yet to re-open. So, we finally decided to take a drive up to Springfield, which is about 40 miles from our house-twice the distance as Smyrna. My hubby was just craving some good catfish. We are so glad we took this drive! The fixings of fried okra, white beans, coleslaw (mayo based) and HUSHPUPPIES were to die for!! The catfish was clean, delicate tasting and fried perfectly. Nothing was greasy or oily. Just absolutely crisp and spot on! (We always bring some back because you get really good size servings too.)
The place might need a little updating, but then again, you shouldn't go there expecting Red Lobster or some fancy kind of place. This is a family style resturant and it's exactly what it is. It is an exact duplicate in decor and building style as the one in Smyrna, looks like on old white plantation style home with a long front porch. Staff is friendly, service was great.
We have never ever eaten anything else at either location except catfish. This is what this resturant specializes in. However, catfish is not for everybody. My momma won't eat it, but when she would go to the Smyrna location, she always got their shrimp and said it was really good. Even if you don't like seafood, you can make a delicious meal just off the fixings and the hushpuppies and you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Country Catfish couldn't be Better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Yesterday evenng around 7:30 we met our son & his wife for an evening meal...... when we pulled in the parking lot there were two BIG busses! Ooooh no.... this is not good but, they were leaving. We walked in, thought we would find the place a total wreck but, everything was just as nice as always. We were seated prompt and our waitress came right away... but, seemed she wasn't too happy. I don't know what had happened to her before we got there, she just had & acted "sour" She took our orders and shortly arrived back with the okra and 4 small plates..... dropping them onto the table with a thud. Right away the red flags went up! I thought we were really in for a bad meal. Noone one at our table said anything, we just watched as a manager pulled her off to the side and talked to her. After that she was ok & began bringing our dishes out piping hot & being courtious. It seemed her whole attitude changed & we were served a great meal. The beans, slaw, hushpuppies and okra were wonderful.... baked potatoes were steaming hot & fresh, the fish (What can I say) the fish was just as great as it's always been.... not greasy but big thick filets of white fish! Very tasty!
We always go for the food & it's always been great.....I guess everyone (waitress) has an off day or so. Certainly, we will be back... we had a wonderful evening!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great catfish, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The portions are huge, including cole slaw, fried okra, white beans, and if you order the catfish, very generous portions. What impressed me the most was that the fish was not greasy like some fried catfish I have had elsewhere. Everything was served hot, and the service was prompt. Our waitress made several recommendations that were very helpful in making selections. If you still have room for desert, I really recommend the chocolate pie.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catfish House also viewed

 

Been to Catfish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catfish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.