We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Captain D's!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captin D's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Captin D's
2096 Wall St, Spring Hill, TN 37174-4208
(615) 302-4045
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 64 Restaurants in Spring Hill
Restaurant details
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“It's a Captain D's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My daughter's quest for fast food almost equals her quest for the perfect Lo Mein. After looking at TripAdvisor's ratings for her two fast food favorites, the choice to find this highly rated Captain D's was made. Was it worth it? Refer to the title of this review.

Service was quick, accurate, and courteous. The food was prepared well. No complaints. If fast food is on my agenda and I'm in Spring Hill again, I'd certainly stop here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I love Captain D's...what can I say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

New and high attention to detail. If you like fried fish and you like Captain D's style, go here. Their fish is nice and crispy, and the slaw is the best.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“good each time I go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I'm not huge on fried fish, it's not the healthiest thing for me. But when I want to splurge, this is where I go! I usually use the drive thru, but I have been inside to eat. The fish is fresh, never soggy. And the staff has always been helpful.
On my visit inside, it was very clean and the bathroom was also clean.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“One of my favorite fast food places!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I love Captain D's fried fish. I know it's not very healthy, but is any fast food? Captain D's is a great place to eat for good fish and side dishes at an honest price. You can always tell the good, cheap places to eat by how many older folks patronize the place, and seniors frequent this joint. The employees are always smiling and helpful, and a manager or franchisee is always around to make sure the fish grease stays poppin' in the back and the dining room stays hoppin' in the front. They actually do have lots of healthy offerings (maybe another reason lots of seniors eat here) but I usually can't resist the good fish and chips taste of their original recipe fried fish with that good, cold tartar sauce they serve, not to mention their awesome sweet tea. People will drive in to Captain D's just for a glass of the sweet tea with a generous lemon wedge. The only caveat is the entrance. Due to the ridiculously crowded nature of Highway 31, which badly needs to be 4 laned, they weren't allowed to put a driveway right on the road. Thus you have to turn in either before you get there or after you've passed it at the gas station/Dunkin Donuts road and then drive back to it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captin D's also viewed

 

Been to Captin D's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captin D's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.