We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burgess Falls State Park

Burgess Falls State Park
4000 Burgess Falls Drive, Sparta, TN 38583-8456
931-432-5312
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Sparta
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Easton, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Beautiful place. Magnificent. I highly recommend hiking to the base of the falls. The wind generated from the falling water is nothing less than amazing. Totally loved it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    21
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirksey, KY
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“An easy hike to beautiful falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a great trip. This is a pretty easy trip down to the middle and lower falls. The hike down to the base of the lower falls is a difficult climb back up. The first time we did this it was in the snow and freezing rain, but this time the leaves were just beginning to change and it was beautiful. If you walk up to the road as you start back up there's a short trail that takes you along the ridgeline along the river that's pretty.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my day at Burgess Falls!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Highly recommend this time of year for a leasurely day at the park. Temps were in the upper 60's. The leaves are turning. It was perfect. Really enjoyed myself!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorsby, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I decided to visit Burgess Falls during our stay in TN. This park was so clean and beautiful. There is no cost to get in and you can bring a picnic. The falls are beautiful. We decided to hike down to the big fall which was so worth it! Overall e had an excellent time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a quiet, uncrowded park with a series of waterfalls. The trail is approximately 1 mile to the falls. This not an easy walk and I would not recommend for small children (under 10). You can take an easier route on the park road which is level with small down hill walk at the end of the road to the overlook but you see only the last of the falls with this easier route. I have been to Cookeville, TN several times and have visited these falls every time.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgess Falls State Park also viewed

 

Been to Burgess Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burgess Falls State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.