We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Davis Home

Sam Davis Home
1399 Sam Davis Road, Smyrna, TN 37167
615-459-2341
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Smyrna
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Bryan, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice little attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Local hero of the Confederacy. A beautiful plantation-style home and grounds. Wonderful for a fall afternoon.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You gotta check this place out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Sam Davis Home is a gem located in Smyrna, TN. A great story about a military hero. I happen to live a couple of miles from the property and still visit whenever I get the chance. Do yourself a favor and check it out.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Proud Beautiful Confederate Home of Sam Davis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went there many times and I am sure you would enjoy the tour and seeing the grounds especially when the rein-actors are there !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenneessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Elementary School Field Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Had a beautiful day for the field trip, the weather couldn't have been any better. The staff was very helpful and great with the kids. My son's fifth grade class was stuck on the bus for an extra 40 min due to a wreck, but we had plenty of time for the activities they had planned for us. The favorite of the day was the black powder shot demonstration right before lunch. We had a video presentation and museum scavenger hunt, a talk by a civil war expert and reenactor (who also was the one that did the rifle shots for us), and a guided tour of the house and grounds.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We rented the facilities for a family reunion. The history buffs in the family were very impressed and we all enjoyed the experience. I especially loved the tour of the home and found the tour guides to be very pleasant and informative. My favorite time of the year at Te Sam Davis home is during the holiday season.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Davis Home also viewed

 

Been to Sam Davis Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Davis Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.