We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The front clerk was very unhelpful and rude and the lobby smelled.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Smyrna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Smyrna to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Smyrna
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 Highwood Blvd, Smyrna, TN 37167   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Smyrna
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The front clerk was very unhelpful and rude and the lobby smelled.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Being exhausted and frustrated after a 10 hr drive, we were honestly desperate for a room. First off, the lobby smelled. There was a room available but to get a discount I had to book online. That was super aggravating but ok. The clerk made NO effort to assist, just kept telling me I was wrong AND couldn't tell me which room online was the correct one. We needed room for 5.
My husband and I have been in customer service our whole life. NEVER would we have treated a customer that way.
Frustrated, I listened to my instincts and left. Another hotel happily took our business with a smile and matched Comfort Inn's price.
Based on this experience, I may never use Comfort Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Suites S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Smyrna, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We appreciate your response to your recent reservation inquiry at our hotel. We also apologize that you had a miscommunication with
the front desk clerk in regards to how many people can sleep in one room. Our hotel rooms are designed to accomodate a maximum of
four people to a room. For this reason, the front desk clerk may have asked you to book the reservation online. We are very sorry
that we could not earn your business and hope to earn it in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    12
    14
    27
See reviews for
24
17
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charles Town, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Business Traveler, Choice Platinum, and I have never been so disrespected as a customer, never mind one with brand loyalty status. No understanding of national customs with regard to business traveling. Quick to argue, quick to become offensive. Has no customer service skills at all. Room was standard for Comfort Suites. Breakfast was weak. No food labeled for allergies. Requirement to pre pay is also something I have never experienced in 25 years of travel, rather an authorization. This is immediate, with an argumentative denial of procedures to refund with an abbreviated stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Suites S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Smyrna, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thankyou for submitting your response. We apologize for any miscoomunication you might have had with the front desk upon checking inn. Your reservation was a pre-paid reservation which means the third party collects the payment upon making the reservation through the 3rd party channel. We are sorry that you had this experience with your reservation. Should you need any further information about your reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel. Regarding the breakfast experience,we do follow and comply with comfort suites standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

For the amount of money charged and the write up in the Kentucky/Tennessee Hotel coupon book we thought we were going to be staying at a top notch hotel. Were we ever fooled. Air conditioning was faulty, bathroom was dirty with stain on tub, coffee pot did not look really clean, beds were uncomfortable. Breakfast room was ridiculous with food looking like it had been cooked the night before. Not much selection. The man in charge was indifferent and seemed bothered that we were even staying there. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Suites S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Smyrna, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
we thankyou for letting us know which area of the hotel we can improve on. we will taked preamptive steps to look at all your issues. thanks for letting us know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just passing through for a night. Not what I expect for $100+ a night from Comfort Suites. Staff was kind of indifferent. Fitness room weight station broke. Pool looked very cloudy. Hall smelled damp and carpets dingy. Small things in the room like no soap dish in the shower, night stand light bulb was out and TV remote was icky. Also the convenience center by the front desk only had drinks. No chips or snacks. Just seemed kind of empty and sad there. I like the Choice chain though and there's a Sleep Inn next door. I may try that next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Suites S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Smyrna, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for submitting your response on your recent stay. We are sorry to hear about the no snack. We are currently in transition process to convert the area by the lobby into suite shop. We are also sorry about the weight machine not functioning. Since this machine is a commercial kind, local shop do not carry the parts for it and we had to order it. This weight machine is operational now. WE hope you give us a try again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

There were many disappointing things about this hotel. First of all you are charged the whole stay when you check in, and if you have to leave early, you are charged for the night. They insist on 24 hours notice, which they don't tell you about when you check in. We checked in and water was standing in the hall. They said the indoor pool was over flowing. We stayed on the 3rd floor and there was a bad smell as soon as we opened the door. There were flat sheets that barely covered the mattress. The room was pretty and spacious. The towels were torn and worn with holes in them. One of the flat sheets had a hole in it. The showerhead was nasty and had calcium built up on it. It hadn't been cleaned in a while. Breakfast was awful. They had cheap thin paper plates to eat out of. The juice was soured and the apple juice was so watered down that there was no taste. We did not get loyalty points due to using a military discount . This was the worst comfort suites that we ever stayed in. And also, the air conditioner was so loud that you had to turn up the TV to hear. But most of all, the management is cutting so many corners that they are ruining this property.This could be a great place to stay, but as it is now, it is like a $29 dollar a night place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Suites S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Smyrna, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We appreciate that you have taken time to respond on your recent stay. We sincerely apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. Some if the items that you have concern about are as follows. We do charge the entire stay up front but we also do refund should your stay becomes short. Regarding the linen in your room, we have talked it over with the housekeeping department supervisor and they are under strict control over this problem. Regarding the breakfast, again, we have talked it over with the attendant in the breakfast area. We hope that you give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
~The hotel looks very nice inside & out.
~Both the night & day staff were very friendly.
~The bed was very comfy with super soft sheets & good pillows.
~The room was very spacious with a good size bathroom.
~No noise in the room.

Cons: (See pictures)
~The sheets didn't quite fit the mattress so the bottom sheet popped up a couple times.
~While the room was mostly clean, there were a few detail issues. There was a thin layer of dust on everything. The corners of the room weren't clean.
~AC was dusty so when I turned it on, dust flew onto the bed.
~An air vent in the shower was SO dusty. It was pretty gross. And it is in plain view when in the shower.
~Shower head was dirty.
~Refigerator smelled pretty gross.
~Linens were a little worn and had a couple tears.

The room wasn't by any means dirty, it was just little details that needed to be taken care of. The entire hotel was kind of like that. All the corners & edges of the lobby & elevator were dirty.

We paid $89 for the night so I'd say it was a very good value for nice room and really comfy bed. We slept really great.

We didn't have breakfast there so I can't say anything about it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Suites S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Smyrna, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
WE appreciate the time you have taken to write a review. We apologize for some of the details you noticed in the room. We have notified the housekeeping department of this issue. The hotel recently was completely full for quite some days and apparently housekeepers overlooked at cleaning some items. WE have strictly informed that department to deep clean each and every area of the hotel. Again we apologize. We hope you try us again. thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel once in early April 2013 as we traveled through the Nashville area. We are ChoicePrivileges members, but were not issued points for this stay. When I called ChoicePrivieges to report a "missing stay"and recover the points I was told we had been given a "special local rate". No mention of this was made at time of check-in/out even though I presented my ChoicePrivileges Membership Card. Rate was far from "special", as it was one of the highest rates I've paid at any Comfort Suites.

Despite this, we booked again for another stay in early May, primarily because we will pass through Nashville twice each month for the next several months and this location was a good halfway point for us. However, after this most recent experience we will NEVER stay at this Comfort Suites again. Read below:

When our plans changed at the last minute for our May trip we tried to cancel the reservation on-line. It was before 12 noon on the day of arrival. The ChoicePrivileges reservation website said the cancellation time had passed. We called the motel directly, hoping for some consideration, because afterall, we were calling well in advance and we ChoicePrivileges members. The desk clerk said they have a 24 hr. cancellation policy. In all our years of traveling we have NEVER encountered such a long cancellation advance time! He said we would have had to cancel by 4pm the previous day. The clerk offered to cancel the reservation for a $25 fee. We said, "No thank you", hung up, and decided to call the 800 # for ChoicePrivileges reservations hoping they could be of assistance. They told us a different cancellation time, and said it was 7am same day. So now we had been told two different times! We called the hotel back and asked to speak to the manager, hoping that the manager would accommodate us whereas the clerk was unwilling. The same clerk us told the manager wasn't available, and was evasive when questioned on when we could speak to the manager. This clerk was unsympathetic, rude, and discourteous. When we told the clerk that they were being rude they hung up on us! We called back (using a different phone number), and again asked for the manager. The same person then claimed to BE the manager! We told him that lying to us and hanging up on us was not appreciated. We decided to contact ChoicePrivileges Customer Support. We learned that because each hotel is an independent franchisee they have no means by which to intervene on our behalf, and they, too were unable to assist. We suggested that they should reconsider the franchisee agreement with this facility, as it gave Comfort Suites a bad name and reputation. We again called the motel to cancel the reservation, pay the $25 fee, and planned to try to plead our case later to the manager and/or owner in writing. We called back multiple times, only to reach voicemail. After seven repeated calls the same person (clerk/manager) finally answered. When challenged on why we kept getting voicemail he admitted to avoiding our calls. After continued arguing he finally cancelled our reservation and gave us a confirmation number. We asked his name, and he gave us, "Young". We didn't ask him to spell it, so it could be some variation of this, such as "Yung".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Suites S, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Smyrna, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We want to thank you for your response. Our hotel policy on the cancellation is 24hours in advance. We are sorry that Choice Privilages department told you the wrong cancellation policy. We did not charge you the full night stay. Thanks in advance for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Smyrna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Smyrna

Address: 3001 Highwood Blvd, Smyrna, TN 37167
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Smyrna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Smyrna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Smyrna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Smyrna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Smyrna Hotel Smyrna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Smyrna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.